We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We just returned from a week in Southern California, including three nights at the Bayshores. I can not say enough about the hotel. On our first night at the hotel, we returned from dinner with friends to find no parking (It was St Patricks Day, and Newport Beach was very busy). The front desk representative actually came out and moved his car to give us his space. Everyone at the hotel was friendly & helpful, the location was excellent with just a short walk to the beach, reastaurants & bars, the courtyard balconies & roof deck were wonderful, and the free cookies were a nice added touch. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy place to stay in Orange County.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 609 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

But if you want a wonderful throwback to a time that was slightly more civilized, quaint and clean rooms, excellent and friendly service, and wireless and breakfast included in a very reasonable rate, then this is the place for you. Oh, and the ocean is a block away!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed at the Bay Shore two years ago while attending a conference at one of the alleged 5 star hotels on Fashion Island. I was supposed to stay at the conference hotel but extended my stay so could justify the switch. As it turned out my room at the Bay Shore with views of both the bay and ocean was $60 per night LESS than at that "other place". I even messed up my reservation and booked one night less than I should have. They had every right to throw me out but graciously accommodated me in the same room!

The room was nicely done, very bed and breakfast like, and was impeccably clean. The bedding was firm and comfortable. The sleep CD and player were a nice touch. Service was outstanding especially at the front desk. The self service breakfast was cozy, clean, and well stocked with a variety of choices. The afternoon cookies were a nice touch as well. The BS hotel is an easy walk to the beaches, piers, restaurants, clubs and beach front shops. The patio on the roof is a great place to have a brew while watching the sunset. The commute to fashion Fashion Island was quick and easy and the twice daily ride on the charming 3-car ferry across the harbor was a real treat.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the place to anyone for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpccc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

And that's nothing but good! We've stayed there several times now, mixing business and leisure, and always look forward to going back to this well kept old-school fifties beach motel. These folks are in the hospitality business, not just renting rooms. The warm cookies, the video and book libraries, the rooftop deck, the gracious and accommodating staff... like a well run B&B in a motel setting.
I've stayed in a lot of places in Orange County, including some so-called resorts costing three times as much, but the Bay Shores will always be my first choice.
The Bay Shores facility may be physically modest, but they have provided a four star experience every time I've stayed there.
The parking lot is a little on the "cozy" side, so please leave your F-350, Hummer, or Escalade at home.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Often, a person needs a vacation to rest after their vacation...This was not the case with our stay at the Bay Shores Hotel. This 25 room hotel has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. From check-in through check-out, the Hotel and the city of Newport Beach provided a stress free, relaxing environment.

At check-in, we were greeted by a friendly staff and by the smell (and taste) of freshly baked cookies. The room was cozy with a nautical theme. Free internet allowed us to keep in touch. The DISH TV and DVD library provided entertainment at the end of the day.

At the breakfast nook, fresh fruit was always available. In the morning, the continental breakfast provided a great start to the day.

From the Bay Shores Hotel, the harbor was a block north and the beach was a block south. Free beach stuff--chairs, towels, boogie boards, umbrellas--was available. The hotel has a nice rooftop sundeck for those who want a little privacy.

There are many fine restaurants along Balboa Peninsula: we recommend Harborside Restaurant in the Balboa Pavilion.

We also enjoyed the Balboa Ferry ride to Balboa Island--another destination for sightseeing, food and shopping.

This was not our first--or last--stay at the Bay Shores Hotel...We'll be back...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostAndFoundSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My wife and I were in the area for a friend's wedding and wanted a special weekend to ourselves after that experience. The Bay Shores did not disappoint.

The beach was adjacent to the hotel and there were many fine dinner choices nearby-almost to many. Clay especially helped us with some sage advice and assistance. In fact, all the staff went out of there way with helpful information and a friendly demeanor.

The room and all the facilities were all in great shape and clean and well-maintained. We liked the assortment of beach equipment available free and took advantage of it! The continental breakfast choices were simple yet high quality and complementary.

The ocean view is great from the roof but a partial view from our room. Really not a factor as the beach is very close by and a pier area with lots of interesting things to enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed here with our two year old and loved the little touches the hotel offered like hot cookies and sand toys! The staff was friendly and had good suggestions about local restaurant options. We stayed in a third floor king room and while spotlessly clean it is a little snug with an air mattress(we brought) on the floor for my toddler, but we made it work! I would stay here again if we head back to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Done_with_shoveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,774 reviews
3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
247 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
5.5 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $161 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing