We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield, uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Me n the wife stayed here for 2 nights at the back end of our 3 week USA bonanza. We arrived from LA with the proviso of bein able to see the beach if not directly on it, we weren't dissappointed. The 'Bay Shores' is literally 50 metres from the beach and you can even see it from some rooms (for an extra price). We plumped for a room on the first floor declining the 'sea view', due to the excellent roof terrace where you can sit n enjoy a beer whilst lookin at the Pacific Ocean and the sunset in one direction or the Marina in the other. Rooms were clean and comfortable,ours had a 42in tv, breakfast was good with a wide choice on offer, fresh fruit and coffee were available all day and freshly baked cookies were available each day at 3pm mmmm. The Bay Shores has boogieboards, chairs, umberellas and towels available to use, all free of charge. Having stayed at other places in Newport Beach before, none have been as good as this one. Ralph was a true host, will definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oziinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    85
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
120
305
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My wife and I wanted to spend a few days at the beach before a conference in Anaheim so we looked around to find something relatively close. Our favorite all time B&B in Dana Point (which would have been 50% more) was booked solid. So I relied on Trip Advisor and their rankings to lead us to the Bay Shores Penninsula hotel. First off, let me say that Newport Beach is not a "quiet get-away" kind of place. Lots of people, parking is very scarce (although the hotel has it's own parking), but the beaches and the staff at BSP made up for all the other little short comings. The hotel is one block off the beach. About a 2 minute walk from front door to sand.. The hotel has all the toys you'll need for a beach trip like towels, chairs, boogie boards and whatnot. All you'll need is a good book and your sunscreen. The rooms are modest, but very clean, great TV's, dvd players and a collection of about 300 movies you can check out for free at the desk. Nice little mini fridge to keep a bottle of wine and some cheese chilled and a very respectable roof top patio with lots of comfy tables and chairs that looks both onto the beach and the inner bay. Cookies at 3 p.m. every day. Yum! Breakfast is not spectacular, but it's still a decent selection of cereal, pastries, and fresh fruit. Aside from the location, the staff was the best part, especially Ralph. He could not have been more accommodating and helpful. He was more than willing to help us get acclimated to NPB, draw on the map, show us where to go, where to catch the bus or the ferry, or where to buy a few snacks to sit up on the patio. (Note to the owners: He deserves a nice raise!) The LA Times is on your door step every morning and there are little tables just outside of your door to sit and read the paper and drink your coffee. You look down on the parking lot/courtyard, but it's still quiet and relaxing..

My only negatives have nothing to do with the hotel. First off, NPB is a very busy area. We wanted to open our windows at night to catch the sea breeze, but the street noise and traffic was too much. Instead we just closed the windows and turned on the AC/fan. Second, there are not lots of restaurants or shops immediately adjacent to the hotel, but they are within walking distance. The Newport pier is about a 15 minutes away on the boardwalk with some shopping there. There's a nice restaurant that serves decent sushi and drinks and it's a nice place to sit and watch the sun set and watch the sea lions steal the bait of local fishermen. The other big shopping area with lots of restaurants is about a mile to the south near Balboa pier. It's not a bad walk, but maybe a bit too much at the end of the day. After walking down there in the evening, we took a cab ride back which cost me $7 with a tip.

If I ever need to go back to the OC area, the Bay Shores Penninsula hotel if sefinitely on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenO756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A hotel cant get any better than this. My boyfriend brought me here to spend my 21st birthday here. As soon as we walked in we where greeted and proceeded to check in, they asked us if we wanted any movies. Thay actually have movies you can borrow while your there, we did get one and then we where offered fresh baked cookies! They make them every evening!! Anyways, staff are really on top of everything and are polite. Never used the elevators since we where only on the 2nd floor and the stairs where more convenient. They have a balcony on top of this hotel and it's just beautiful! The view is awesome and it's a perfect place to just sit down, relax, have a beer, and see the ocean.

Although the hotel itself (outside view) may look a tad bit old, the rooms have been updated and personaly I thought they where beautiful. Granite countertops in the bathroom with new fixtures and the bed was comfy.

As far as location goes, A+++ we never used the car! Everything is walking distance. Cross the street and pass a couple houses and the beach is right there. The port is also nearby (walking 7 min) Theres alot of night life, as there are many bars open by the beach at night. Food, plenty of it, almost in every corner. Grocery store and liquor store are also a couple of blocks away. Will come again!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loridmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I took three buddies here on a sportfishing trip in May that left from Newport Beach. It was great! We caught our weight in fish and had an excellent time. The hotel was clean and comfortable, plenty of nightlife in the local area and the bay and the beach were just steps from the front door. Mike, John, and myself appreciated the staff's attention to detail and they gave some great tips on food! We're planning on coming back next year for some more good times.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigfishermanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We spent one night on the Newport beach, which was a beautiful experience, most of the family's first view of the Pacific Ocean. The management of the hotel is very friendly and accommodating. The property, although older, has been renovated with nice artwork and is spotlessly maintained. It is a block one way to the marina and a block the other way to the ocean, not far from the Newport pier. I am happy that tripadvisor has led me to a place that was memorable and good value. I was sorry we had only one night to spend there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I loved my stay here and the staff, especially Clay, was very accomodating and helpful. I would truly recommend the Bay Shores Peninsula Inn to anyone. It felt more like I was in a nice, comfortable bedroom instead of a hotel room. Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2009

When my wife and I wanted to spend some quality R&R time with some friends on the coast, we wanted some place that was priced reasonably, was really close to the shore, and had the amenities that we are accustomed to. The Bay Shores came up in a search in the area we wanted to stay and after checking out some good reviews here, we called and booked a room with the friendly staff.

Our stay was really nice, the hotel was clean, well-maintained and low key. The service was good, and the front desk was able to provide some excellent restaurant recommendations in the Newport Beach area. The beach is right across the street, it was great for walks and checking out the sunset.

We are looking forward to staying here again this summer.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank postmodernnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.8 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing