We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newport Beach Marriott Bayview(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$262
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,395
$532
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $609/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
515
87
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
87
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbeach equipmentboogie boardsfresh baked cookiesafternoon cookiesacross the streetcd playersmall hotelfeed the meterfree beachyogurtwithin walking distancehard boiled eggscontinental breakfastlittle extrascrab cookerchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 625 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked this place on a trip from Australia and we were so happy with our choice! Staff were amazingly friendly, breakfast included and the rooms were really comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something with a bit of old world charm that's different from every other hotel you stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccajane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for coming so far to see us and for taking the time to write the lovely review. Glad that you appreciated our vintage vibe and for naming us 'Best on the Boulevard' - looking forward to using that quote in an future newsletter! Hope you had a safe trip home and that we get to enjoy your company one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a warm welcome and show around. The room was available to us straight away. The room was very nice and had all of the amenities we needed.
We were able to use beach equipment free of charge from the hotel. (which is literally just across the road from the beach).
They have homemade cookies on a daily basis!! There is a roof terrace with tables and chairs.
The location is amazing.
We loved it here and even received a thank you postcard from the owner!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for honoring us with being part of your honeymoon! Sounds like you had a lovely time; perhaps we'll get the pleasure of your company on subsequent anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Mom and I did a "bucket list" two day trip to Newport, shopping all day one day at South Coast Plaza and Crystal Court, stayed at the Bay Shores that night and shopped Fashion Island the next day. A friend warned me away from the peninsula this time of year due to " a lot of partying". However, after reading that the hotel does not do reservations for anyone under a certain age and seeing all the great reviews, we decided to go for it. Included breakfast and cookies in the afternoon helped, too! We were very pleased with the location, the property, the staff (and cookies!). Everything was neat and clean, parking a little tight but worked out on the street nearby. A quick walk to the beach for an early morning walk after coffee in the room. Did I mention the cookies? Breakfast of cereals, juices, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, muffins, toast. Coffee available in the lobby most of the day.
We had a very quiet room with two double beds. I'm sure fellow travelers have the potential to make or break the stay with inconsiderate noise, but we lucked out.
Thanks for a great stay Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel! Hope to be back again sometime.

Room Tip: A top floor room is probably quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank triptipper_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your review and for particularly mentioning that we are not a party hotel. There are plenty of hotels in Newport Beach which are; we are just not one of them. Glad that you were able to take a couple of things off your bucket list - happy to oblige with "eating a delicious, fresh baked cookie at Bay Shores" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Favorite place to stay when I'm in the area. Rooms are clean, hotel is in a great location close to both the Newport and Balboa piers. Food and drink are just a short stroll away in a beautiful setting regardless of your desired choice. All you need for a day at the beach is at your disposal and the staff is always there to give you options. Bruce has always come through with great suggestions and recommendations for dinner and fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

So glad you had a wonderful time and thank you for being a much valued repeat guest! Sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and that my staff took care of you with regards to restaurants and attractions. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is a friendly, clean, comfortable hotel with a nice continental breakfast served each morning. It is located just a block from the beach, is close to Newport Pier and about 1 1/2 miles from Balboa Pier. One thing to be aware of is that not all rooms have elevator access, so if climbing stairs is difficult, be sure your room has elevator access.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrissMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for the nice review. Good note on the stairs for future guests; we do have plenty of lovely rooms accessible by elevator or on the ground floor. Just let us know at time of booking or when you check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews