We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Place to stay in NB !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to stay in NB !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Favorite place to stay when I'm in the area. Rooms are clean, hotel is in a great location close to both the Newport and Balboa piers. Food and drink are just a short stroll away in a beautiful setting regardless of your desired choice. All you need for a day at the beach is at your disposal and the staff is always there to give you options. Bruce has always come through with great suggestions and recommendations for dinner and fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
So glad you had a wonderful time and thank you for being a much valued repeat guest! Sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and that my staff took care of you with regards to restaurants and attractions. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    79
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
105
277
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is a friendly, clean, comfortable hotel with a nice continental breakfast served each morning. It is located just a block from the beach, is close to Newport Pier and about 1 1/2 miles from Balboa Pier. One thing to be aware of is that not all rooms have elevator access, so if climbing stairs is difficult, be sure your room has elevator access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrissMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for the nice review. Good note on the stairs for future guests; we do have plenty of lovely rooms accessible by elevator or on the ground floor. Just let us know at time of booking or when you check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Lovely rooms with great toiletries, safety deposit box, fridge and wifi. The staff were friendly and helpful, free hire of beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, boggie boards and beach toys was great. Cookies in reception each afternoon was definitely a highlight for me! Also a vast selection of DVD's in reception for free hire was great. Great location, super breakfast, quiet and safe at night and across the road from the beautiful beach, the harbour is behind the hotel and bars, restaurants, shops and a convenience store are within a 5 minutes’ walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redroxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for coming so far to visit us and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. 'Cookies in reception each afternoon a highlight'? Me too! I own the hotel and still get excited by that! So glad that you got to enjoy so many of our amenities and that while you were here you felt welcomed and safe. Hope we get to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Me and a couple of my best friends booked a room here months ago and when we went to check in they turned us away because we were not 25 years old. When booking this room we all looked at the website and no where did it say on the website or on the confirmation that we had to be a certain age to stay at this hotel. The man running the front desk said "you must have slipped through the system" and to "sleep on the beach for all I care". He had no sympathy for us and was not helpful at all. I understand hotel age requirements and would have respected them if we had known about it prior to driving 7 hours to this hotel, but the fact that we were uninformed and then treated so harshly was so unprofessional and disrespectful. Because of this situation me and my friends had to find new hotels to stay at and had to switch rooms every single night of our "vacation". We were also hotel-less for one night and had to stay with other friends nearby. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone purely because of how disrespectful they were to us as paying customers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I'm sorry, but we are not a party hotel and in checking the reservations for the 3 rooms which your group of young ladies booked, I see that your reservation was made through our website which simply will not allow a reservation to be completed without accepting the terms and conditions which clearly state "I certify that I am at least 25 years of age, which is the hotel's minimum age for guests without parental supervision in attendance." When your group was attempting to check in, the IDs presented were for ages of only 18-19, with no adult over 25 in attendance. This age policy is also stated in our listings with the online travel agencies, so there shouldn't be any question about it. Regarding the veracity of your statements about other actions and comments by my staff, I will leave it to Trip Advisor's readers to form their own opinions based on the hundreds of other online reviews praising our friendly, helpful and efficient guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

this is a great venue, right across from the beach, not glitzy, rather, well kept, clean and friendly.

If you are a 20 something looking to party this isn't the place for you. If you are a couple or young family looking to really have a safe and secure place for a vacation or special weekend, then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay and for commenting on our atmosphere and vibe. Small and friendly, we are delighted when we can provide a home away from home for families and for those looking for great value. Hope we get to enjoy your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you are wanting to stay at a cute, little hotel that covers all the little things, then this is the place for you.

My husband and I try to stay here every year. The people that work here are super nice and very helpful! We have stayed here too many nights to count, and the staff always goes above and beyond to provide customer service that really stands out.

They are located right across the street from the beach, and there is a marina/beach area right behind the hotel. The hotel provides beach chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, towels and everything you need for the beach at NO charge. You can watch the sunset from the roof deck.

They provide FREE parking. Complimentary breakfast buffet. Yummy, fresh baked cookies all day. FREE movies to check out from the lobby. Fruit and mini fridges inside the rooms. Within walking distance to some yummy restaurants.

Do not forget to check out Balboa Island and Balboa Fun Zone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoadtripWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We love all of our guests but we particularly those like yourselves whose company we get to enjoy time and time again. Thank you so much for making us part of your annual vacation and for taking the time to write such a nice review. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

During our 2 week stay in the US, this was the friendliest hotel by far. On arrival we were greated warmly and told about all the great extras the hotel offers. Not only does it offer free beach equipment, towels and body boards it also has daily yummy freshly baked cookies!
The rooms were fairly basic but homely with everything you need including air conditioning. Each morning and night the beds were made and a chocolate was placed on the pillow, another lovely touch.
The included breakfast was also another surprise, with freshly baked croissants, toast, sausage and bacon rolls, fruit and yogurt.
The location is superb, you can see the sea from the hotels roof top terrace and the amazing Newport beach is metres away.
If I had to be super critical my only 2 negatives would be the room hair dryers which took ages to dry my hair and the noisy air con, but because of all the added extras these 2 points are insignificant!
This was our last stop on our trip and it was a brilliant place to spend our lasy few days, I would definitely recommend Newport and this brilliant hotel. My only advice would be watch out for the restaurants super large portions, the starters are like mains and the mains can feed a family of four.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiebachd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for making us part of your trip while you were Stateside and for writing such a positive review. I appreciate you mentioning the complimentary breakfast and the rooftop view and I've made a note to look into the power of the hairdryers in the rooms. Sounds like we might need to at least retire the one you had in your room. Hope we see you again if you ever come back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing