We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mom&Pop feel, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was spacious and clean. Loved the mom and pop feel. Staff was warm and welcoming. The complementary continental breakfast was a great value, plenty to choose from to start your day. Loved the complementary fruit and water bottles in room. Our room also had a refrigerator which was great. They offer free beach items to use, towels, chairs, etc. as well as free parking. The location is perfect which makes this an expensive hotel but I feel they go to great lengths to offer as much value as they can with the complementary items mentioned. We would stay there again and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBunny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for the review; I am so glad that we were able to make you feel so welcomed! Small, friendly and with a vintage vibe, it's our pleasure to provide those little extras that make your stay as restful and fun as possible. So glad you're looking forward to your next visit - we are too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 589 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just wanted to say thanks for the warm welcome and such a great relaxed atmosphere that made my business trip so enjoyable.
After flying in from London and drive from LAX, the Bay Shores was the perfect place to unwind and chill. And what a location!!!!!
I made the trip back and forth from the NAMM show at Anaheim every day during my stay and the 40minute drive was well worth it after a day of loud guitars. The hotel and beach gave me the down time I needed to recover my senses.
Many thanks to the team for making me feel at home and I will not hesitate to return on my next visit to LA.........
YOU GUYS ROCK!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and so pleased that we could provide some daily respite for your ears! One of my staff members was particularly envious that you were at NAMM - if you made it to the Bonham concert too, then that would just put her over the edge! Thank you again for the great review and btw, Pompey rocks too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Really lovely hotel, a stones throw from the beach. A very homely, cosy, quality hotel with a lovely laid back atmosphere. We were a party of 6 .. Irish and Aussie ... Our bedrooms were really comfortable with lovely fluffy towels, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, and flat screen tv. Breakfast was an informal buffet style arrangement which suited us really well. Nice rooftop sun deck with good views. We borrowed the hotel beach chairs and umbrella for a trip to the beach. Last but not least, the staff ... They were great and extremely helpful and friendly, so thanks to Warren, Ralph, Bruce and all the team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for the compliments on our hospitality - high praise indeed from two countries (Ireland and Australia) famed for their friendly and open natures! So glad you could come and stay with us and enjoy our amenities; I hope your party gets together again and that you come and enjoy Newport Beach again at Bay Shores!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is an incredible find only one block from the Newport Beach boardwalk and the sand. My wife accompanied me on a business trip so we decided to stay at the beach. The Bay Shores Peninsula is a wonderful family-owned beach hotel. Warren, Ralph and team are awesome and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. I went to work during the day and my wife was all over Newport Beach. I can't say enough good things about this hotel...and I've stayed at the Ritz Dana Point, Fairmont and other high end hotels. Its great to see people like Warren operating a wonderful little hotel on Newport Beach. My wife and I will definitely come back to this hotel. P.S. homemade cookies at 3:00 everyday are awesome.

Room Tip: The rooms along Balboa Ave are a little noisy but nothing super loud. We had room 302 and we would...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am so thrilled you both had a great time. When I was traveling a lot for business, I loved it when my wife could come along and we could make a mini-break out of what might have been a lonely and tedious road trip. Thanks for mentioning the location and how convenient we are for the beach and for giving the staff a special shout out; I'll be sure to pass your compliments on. Again thanks, and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable and the great ambiance of traditional California beach town. Great surfing art and wooden models of old Woodies with surf boards on top array the small lobby. Not big or luxurious but customer service is fantastic.. Staff are friendly, helpful and well informed. I much prefer this to a sterile chain hotel. Close to everything in Newport Beach. A great get away.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jjonesschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you, you captured our vibe perfectly! So glad you had a great stay and that we were able to provide 'vintage' service. John Severson is the creative force behind the room art; just check our website for more info on this very talented painter. Again, thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this fantastic hotel filled with tons of extra special touches-from the friendly and informative staff to the daily warm cookies, the nice touch of turn down service with delicious chocolates, morning breakfast, quality Evelyn and Crabtree toiletries, clean room with comfortable bedding, nice thick towels, large flat screen TV mounted on the wall, granite counter tops in the kitchen and tiled entryway. This small hotel was in a terrific location within walking distance to delicious restaurants, only a block from the ocean on one side and bay on the other. Knowledgeable and friendly staff with great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. If you forgot something, they will provide it. They have a nice open air roof top patio with comfortable seating-perfect for enjoying the spectacular sunsets of Newport Beach and sail boats of the Bay. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We take a lot of pride in seeking out little luxuries for our guests and so I'm so pleased you noticed all our efforts from the soap to the cookies! I'll be passing on your compliments to all the staff; again thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights between Jan 2-4 to attend a nearby wedding. From check in to check out, the staff was great and so accommodating even if we weren't in the room too much. We appreciated the fresh afternoon cookies, being able to borrow things to take to the beach, and letting our friends use some of the hotel's amenities too. The staff are long time employees who really seem to know the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaYunC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your celebrations; our congratulations to the happy couple! I appreciate you mentioning tour experienced and knowledgeable staff; many of our employees have been with the hotel for over ten years and some in fact, over twenty! I hope when you come to stay again, you'll have more time to enjoy our other amenities until then, thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,020 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,629 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $174 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing