We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a family vacation. They have everything you need to enjoy the beach, chairs, towels, and even toys for the kids. It's a little pricy, but well worth it. I love the fresh bagels in the morning and cookies every afternoon. The staff is so accommodating, and all the rooms are clean and fresh. It's just the perfect place to stay for a beach vacation. Plus everything you need for your stay is within walking distance so you can park your car and not have to worry about driving at all the whole time you're here!

Room Tip: Call as far a head as possible and ask for the family suite, it sleeps 6 very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so glad that you found everything to your liking and that your children were able to enjoy the beach toys. I'll share your sentiments with my staff; they will be thrilled that you noticed their high level of service. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
111
294
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. Rooms are very clean and fresh with everything you need and are cleaned every day. They have a breakfast room where you help yourself . The hotel is very close to the beach on one side and the harbour on the other. There are bars and restaurants within a short walk .

The hotel staff are great special shout out to Warren who recommended restaurants to us and also gave us a voucher for a free dessert and will help with anything. They have chairs and boogie boards for you to take to the beach if you want to.

Newport beach is great not crowded at all and has a good relaxed atmosphere Balboa island is also very nice .They also have a rooftop terrace where you can watch the sunset.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough would go back if staying in Newport again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We're all so glad you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the amenities you enjoyed (boogie boards, roof top lounge etc) so that other visitors can enjoy them too. I hope you had a safe journey home and very much look forward to you coming back to see us one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Bay Shores Peninsula is a fantastic boutique hotel based in a perfect place to enjoy the beach or explore Newport. The room is comfy and has everything you could want and the breakfast ensures you are fully fed for the day ahead. The thing that really stands out most of all though is the friendliness of the stay and their determination to ensure you have a great stay. They really care about their guests. This place is extremely good value for money and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Bay Shores Peninsula as providing "everything you could want"! We are just delighted to have made your stay a delight and hope that the next time you cross the Atlantic, you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My Husband and I love to travel and when we get fantastic customer service we love to tell about it! The Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel far surpassed our expectations. We found it on line and booked it due to its close proximity to the beach. We were overwhelmed by the customer service! Warren made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived.
The room had a "Beach House" feel and you cross the street and you are at Newport Beach!
We watched a couple of movies in our room (current blockbusters), got beach chairs and whatever else we needed just by signing our signature with a promise to return them. No hidden charges!
The breakfast was great and sitting up on the balcony was lovely. You can see the harbor on one side and the ocean on the other.They even have fresh cookies every day in the lobby, which is decorated with a nautical theme and very warm and homey.
The hotel is clean and very nice, fresh flowers in the room, daily newspaper etc. We stay at a beach house in Newport every five years with our family, but we have found a wonderful place to stay in the off years. We even received a thank you post card for staying with them, you don't see this kind of customer service these days.We definitely will return many times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_B782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you were able to come and stay with us so we could extend the Bay Shores signature hospitality to you. I too look forward to you coming back ...the fresh baked cookies will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed in So Cal in various locations for 2 weeks and this was undoubtably the best by a mile! Welcoming staff, beautiful room, lovely breakfast, parking taken care of, the loan of beach equip if required, rooftop terrace, cookies to die for..... we extended our stay by an extra night and Warren and the team could not have made us feel more welcome. On our arrival back in the UK there was a lovely postcard from Warren, what a nice personal touch. Will definately go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Liberty and were very happy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and for coming all the way from Lancashire to visit us - one of my favorite counties in England! I am so glad that we were able to extend the same hospitality to you that I have experienced when I've been in your part of the world. Come again soon - and when you do, could you bring some of that wonderful Hotpot in your suitcase!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for a few days early November. Location is awesome, staff are all very nice. We stayed in the Bay Suite, 2 bdr, 2 bath. We liked it for the space, private terrace, fireplace for chilly evenings. Did not use the kitchen except for the fridge, there is no dishwasher if that matters to you.
The rooms are older, so the bathrooms are quite small, with no counter space, at least in our suite. The beds are comfortable, but wish they had duvets instead of blankets and bedspreads. Was very clean, could even see the vacuum marks on the carpet after they cleaned:) but it would be nice if they perhaps updated the furniture abit. Overall, very nice quiet place to stay. No amenities, so if you need a pool etc, then this is not the place for you. Must admit, we did wish it had a pool but knew that there was not one before getting there.
We ate out for dinner every night, but did enjoy the breakfast that was included. Basic breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal. Enough to get you going.
Location is awesome, beach is so close, and many restaurants to choose from within walking distance. The neighborhood is nice, quiet, and felt very safe.
Thank you to all the staff, but a shout out to Warren. We saw and talked to him the most, but also Paul and Ralph.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in The Bay Suite; when I have the whole gang down, that's where we stay as a family too - we love the fireplace as well! I appreciate your observations about some of the hotel appointments being a little bit older, your recognition of the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the property. You've captured us perfectly - small, friendly and with a vintage vibe! I've also noted your comment on duvets - they are in a lot of hotel properties now and I'll definitely look into it. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to you coming again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We don't stay in hotels because we want to enjoy what the hotel has to offer. We stay in hotels so we can take advantage of everything nearby. It's nice when the hotel offers unique options like a rooftop deck to view the Pacific and the bay, where you can watch surfers, see the local marinas and enjoy a meal or beverage, just like you were on your own porch. It's also very nice when the hotel offers rooms that are stylishly diverse, clean and comfortable. I like a room where you can sleep with the windows open. That's what we found at the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, too. Need directions, they will tell you how to get there and provide a free map. Want to talk, they are happy to oblige you in conversation.

Breakfast is included with the room. The only hitch is that there really weren't any healthy choices. Everything included high doses of sugar or other less-than-healthy alternatives. No different than what is available at other "corporate" style hotel breakfast buffets.

We really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UwchlanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the nice compliments regarding the staff. I'm sorry if you only found high sugar options for breakfast during your stay as we regularly provide a wide range of options to include fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt and low sugar cereals. I will definitely review the menu though to make sure that everything we are providing is of the highest quality so our guests have the very best start to their day. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing