We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does it Get Any Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just the cutest place ever. The staff is wonderful and accomodating. The night front desk guy is as good as it gets when it comes to service. Although somewhat dated when it comes to the rooms the location and cuteness of the place overwhelms you. You can walk to restaruants and the beach in 5 minutes. Speaking of restaurants the best clam chowder i have ever eaten is 2 minutes away at the crab house restaurant down the street. If you want small and quaint this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1Denver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for the review and for capturing the essence of who we are - small, friendly and with a vintage vibe! Glad you were able to enjoy our local clam chowder; totally agree, absolutely delicious. Come back soon, we'll all be waiting to give you the same great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 595 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We love this place! First of all, this adorable small hotel has everything you need for the beach, at no extra charge. Beach umbrellas, chairs, towels, boogie boards, frisbees and sand toys are all available for you to use. What a deal and a convenience, for those of us that fly into town with only our clothes!
Our room was small but freshly decorated and the bathroom seemed to be recently remodeled.
There was everything we needed, coffee maker, mini fridge, a safe, wifi, air-condition, flat screen tv (although we never used it).
Each morning they put out a nice light breakfast spread (no charge). There is fresh coffee and fruit available in the kitchen all day long. Cookies in the lobby at 3:00.
Warren and Ralph in the lobby are wonderfully friendly and extremely helpful.
I will never stay anywhere else when we go to Newport Beach. This place is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being so appreciative of the little extras we provide. I'm glad that the staff were able to make your staff enjoyable and that Newport Beach provided so much to enjoy you didn't even need to turn the TV on! Thank you for the review; we look forward to you coming back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great place. The owner has added these little touches everywhere that just make you feel welcome.You're a block away from the beach, there are free chairs, boogie boards , and umbrellas for guests to use if needed. There was a relaxation CD in the CD player in my room. There was a newspaper delivered in the AM , there are fresh cookies baked in the lobby in the afternoon. Breakfast is included. Restaurants are 5 minutes away. The rooms are cozy.The staff is very friendly and accomodating. There is also free Wi-Fi . I will definitely stay there the next time I am in town.Cant say enough.This owner has style.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGarbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Well thank you for saying "the owner has style" but I have to say, I can hear my wife laughing at that one! I owe a lot to my family in the decorating department and to the whole staff for their ideas on the little extras it gives us a great deal of pleasure to provide. Anyway, I certainly appreciate the comment and thank you for taking the time to leave the review. Hope you're back this way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The room was absolutely adorable--decorated like a guest cottage with lovely artful touches, comfy bed, mini-fridge, free wifi and coffee-maker. The inn is very small and personal. Feels a little like staying at your great aunt's guest house, but without the great aunt to contend with. They have a kitchen with fresh fruit, pastries, hard-boiled eggs and other snacks. Freshly-baked cookies lure people in in the afternoon. The hotel is one crosswalk away from the beach, and they have free towels, chairs, beach toys readily available to borrow. It is within walking distance of Newport Pier and a crab restaurant that does takeout. The rooftop lounge is amazingly relaxing--at 4 stories, this might actually be the tallest building in the area, and has views of both the ocean and bay. We were able to stand up there and see whales leaping around! The staff seemed genuinely invested in trying to make it a nice place for guests. Parking is a problem with only 12 tiny reserved spaces, but it's free and they help troubleshoot so everyone can be accommodated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nita999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely and comprehensive review. Sounds like you had a wonderful time - whale watching, crab dinner and, perhaps best of all, no Great Aunt! Please come back next time you need to beat the heat of Phoenix, we'd love to share your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visit this area regularly and we always stay at the bay Shores. It feels like a second home. We are always treated as if we are VIPs. Cookies in the afternoon are a great touch. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Rooms are perfect. Simply can't say enough good about this place.

Room Tip: Book early in peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jharleyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for coming to see us again and for leaving such nice comments for future visitors. We're always so pleased to have you to stay - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fabulous hotel (more like guest house really) between the inlet and the sea on the Balboa peninsula, Newpot Beach.
Took my teenage daughter for 8 day trip, and really cannot speak too highly of the hotel. The staff are welcoming and just so helpful all the time. On checking in, my daughter said to me 'there's an ambience about this place I am going to love' & it did not disappoint!
No need for a pool, the beach is just over the road and the hotel provides beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards.
Free wifi (essential for teenagers) and comprehensive selection of dvds should you wish to watch one.
Love the informality of the place, even though efficient. The light breakfast was perfect & we ate ours on the sun terrace every day.
All day coffee, fruit and afternoon cookies, just added to the warmth of the atmosphere

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and for coming so far to stay with us. As a family hotel, we try to provide a little something for every age group so we're glad that your daughter was able to make good use of the free wifi. We hope you come to visit again; we'd be delighted to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay at Bay Shores could not have been better. The staff is super friendly, perfect location to get almost anywhere, free parking, free wifi, great breakfast in their darling little kitchen, they will loan you chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, towels for the day. Fresh cookies everyday at 3pm. Free DVD rentals, rooftop deck is a wonderful place to sip a beer or wine at sundown. Comfy beds, super clean rooms, charming decor. Great maid service. This place is the best and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 302 had a great view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiverBalcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

I am so glad that you can't wait to come back because nothing would give us greater pleasure than to be able to show you the same hospitality you just enjoyed. Thank you for sharing your experience with others through your review; we all appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,029 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $164 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing