We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay at Bay Shores could not have been better. The staff is super friendly, perfect location to get almost anywhere, free parking, free wifi, great breakfast in their darling little kitchen, they will loan you chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, towels for the day. Fresh cookies everyday at 3pm. Free DVD rentals, rooftop deck is a wonderful place to sip a beer or wine at sundown. Comfy beds, super clean rooms, charming decor. Great maid service. This place is the best and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 302 had a great view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiverBalcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

I am so glad that you can't wait to come back because nothing would give us greater pleasure than to be able to show you the same hospitality you just enjoyed. Thank you for sharing your experience with others through your review; we all appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked here because of the TripAdvisor rating, which is well deserved.
It's a small place so the service is excellent and personal. The room was very comfortable with so many extra touches to make you feel looked after.
Perfect location for the beach, restaurants and shops around the Newport Pier, and a great base to explore other beaches and the malls.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMESIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

I booked here because of the TripAdvisor rating, which is well deserved.
It's a small place so the service is excellent and personal. The room was very comfortable with so many extra touches to make you feel looked after.
Perfect location for the beach, restaurants and shops around the Newport Pier, and a great base to explore other beaches and the malls.

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for mentioning our service. For us, it is our top priority so I am so glad we were able to meet, and perhaps exceed your expectations. I hope we'll see you again one day; thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed her last March and this past weekend. We wont stay anywhere else when in the area. So many pros about this place..location, free parking, clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast, beach equipment/towels, dvds, refridgerator, clean bathrooms, nice decor, seating on the rooftop, great views!! Believe all the good reviews with why this the th #1 place to stay when in Newport Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weluvbeaches21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and thank you being a return guest! I really appreciate you mentioning all of the amenities it is our pleasure to provide for great guests like you, I hope we see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Every time I am visiting my family in SoCal, I stay at the Bay Shores. Rooms are vintage in flavor, but clean and in beautiful condition. The staff makes you feel like family and you are inches from the beach. I will never stay anywhere else.
Nancy G

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the corner. Good view and great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzazou1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We just love all of our return guests and nothing makes us happier than knowing we have made someone feel at home. The next time you come to SoCal to visit your real family, your Bay Shores family will be happy to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We like the friendliness of the staff and the place was real clean and that is a plus for us. When we got to our room there was a welcoming card on the bed. fresh hot cookies every day at 3pm. We will be going back again.
No pool but a block from the beach so it makes up for it.

Room Tip: It is very close to the beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad you found us to be friendly and welcoming. All my staff are dedicated to providing the very best in hospitality so we all look forward to you coming back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this place online and decided to stay for our anniversary. We each have (corporate) hospitality background and are Starwood members. Bay Shores blow us away! No hidden fees, genuinely friendly staff and our favorite, practically everything was included in the price. One very reasonable price includes the room, parking, bottled water, fresh fruit, full breakfast, movie rentals, beach towels, boogie boards, beach umbrellas and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon! We already booked for next year and want to bring our family because it was completely affordable. We will recommend this little slice of heaven to everyone who will listen to us!

Room Tip: We stayed in the USA room. Top floor near the entrance to the rooftop deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for already booking for next year! We're looking forward to showing the same hospitality to your entire family when you return, in the meantime, with your extensive experience, if you can think of any other amenities you have enjoyed while staying at other hotels that could work well at Bay Shores, please don't hesitate to let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Shores Hotel on our recent trip to California. Since I haven't been back to this area of California in over 40 years it was like deja vu but not in an unpleasant way. This place was equipped with all the modern conveniences. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. It was nice to be able to walk to the beach and to the many bars and restaurants. The innkeeper recommended an Italian restaurant for dinner that was very good. It was apparent that the owners have taken great pride and care in maintaining this property. They put a lot of thought in making available extra amenities, such as boogie boards, beach towels, cookies, magazines, water in the in-room refrigerator, etc., etc., etc. There are so many extras such as a magnifying mirror in the bathroom and also in the vanity area. The breakfast room was small to accommodate everyone, but you always have the option of taking your food to the rooftop or to your own little table outside your door. If I had to make any negative remark, it would be that smoking was allowed on the rooftop and outside tables. It wasn't a problem for us, but you never know when you might run into an inconsiderate smoker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your extensive and positive review. It really helps potential guests and so I appreciate you mentioning the many amenities and the small courtesies it is our pleasure to extend. I do hope we'll see you again when you're on the West Coast again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,755 reviews
3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
245 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $157 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing