We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't ask for more for the price! This hotel offers amenities found in higher end hotels for a reasonable price. Linens, bath products and turn down service are nice! The hotel is just off the beach and provides complimentary towels and beach toys, boards...etc. We would recommend this hotel to families, those traveling on business or couples looking for a getaway. It has it all! We will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Value and service are our top priorities so I am very glad that both were to your liking. We've just upgraded our line of bath products so I am very pleased that they were worthy of note in your review. Looking forward to your next visit; thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
109
292
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We arrived early after two days in Disneyland and were looking forward to some relaxation. Ralph and Lisa were fantastic! Ralph was able to get us into our room by 1:30 which can be unheard of when checking into hotels.
The room is so cute! I love the nautical beach theme it makes you feel like you are right at home.
The hotel has a free DVD library that carries all the latest and greatest films.
Fresh home made chocolate chip cookies are set out every day around 3, take them up to the rooftop sun deck to see the view!
We ate at Charlies Chili and Fly n Fish Oyster Bar and Grill, both were excellent.
If your looking for a fabulous hotel steps from the beach that offers free parking, breakfast, movies, and beach equipment, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Yes, Disneyland can be quite exhausting can't it so I am pleased that my staff was able to get you off your feet early! Thank you for the great review and the restaurant recommendations; that's always useful for other guests. Glad we were able to make you feel right at home - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for 6 days mid June 2013. Perfect location, within walking distance to the beach, the bay, the pier, restaurants & shops. Wonderful room amenities, we loved the fresh fruits & the bed was heavenly (need to find out the brand). Breakfast had a lot of choices (Didn't have to repeat, yeah!), great coffee & a great selection of teas. Loved the rooftop deck! Thanks for feeding the meter by the way. We found a new hotel whenever we are in Southern Cal. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
And we can't wait to have you back! I'm sorry I don't know the brand of bed off the top of my head by I am certain that our General Manager Ralph does and I'll have him drop you a line. I'm glad that you felt well taken care of from the galley kitchen all the way up to the rooftop lounge! See you next time you're in Southern California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankalilla, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at bay shores for four nights in late May early June. Wonderful retro motel with ultra modern (great) service. Good sized room with double glazing. Very comfortable bed. Clean, clean and clean. Breakfast is excellent, as is the access to coffee and tea all day. The cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch and welcome after a walk to the beach. Well located for the beach and restaurants. Also for Balboa Island if you like a walk. Can't think of any negatives.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our 'retro vibe'. Our guests have a lot of fun with the 50's/60's surfing theme - we have to thank the artist John Severson for that and his amazing talent. As a walker myself, I'm glad you were able to enjoy the charms of the neighborhood and Balboa Island and that there were fresh cookies to welcome you back after your stroll!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Extremely clean room, not fancy but just fine. Staff is very personable and helpful. The breakfast was a great treat and offered many items to choose from. I really appreciated the location, just steps from the beach. We felt very comfortable here and would return. thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationTime32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Bay Shores and Newport Beach for your vacation - I hope the weather was a little kinder than the Midwest has been dealing out to you this year. I am glad that the breakfast gave you a great start to your day and that my staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. I look forward to hosting you when your travels send you this way again; thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just stayed at the Bay Shore last weekend. When we arrived, we were early - Check in is 3pm and we arrived at 1:30, so we assumed we could leave our bags and walk around until our room was ready. But Ralph called housekeeping to see if any rooms were ready for us. There were some ready; As we were standing in the lobby, he noticed that my husband is rather tall (6'5") and we had only reserved a room with a qureen bed. He said a room with a king bed was available and do we want a free upgrade? Of course we took it and the weekend started off on the right foot. One of the best things about this hotel is that they think of every convenience and do not nickle and dime you for everything. Free water bottles in you room refrigerator. Free fruit in your room, turn down service and plenty of snacks in the kitchen if you happen to be hungry. The free breakfast is one of the best ones I have been to, including hot egg bagel sandwiches and coffees and teas availbale all day, as well as hot cookies in the afternoon. When we went to the beach the next day, we went to the front desk and got beach towels, beach chairs, an umbrella, a beach matt and a boogie board! (all at no cost of course) and we walked the short block across the street. The staff could not have been friendlier or the rooms cleaner. They obviously take great pride in their hotel and the reviews they receive and it shows. If you are looking for a quaint, clean, friendly place with an excellent location, you have found it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kreuserj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us; I am so glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. It's our pleasure to provide all of the little extras that make for a great getaway and if you can think of anything else that might have added to your enjoyment, please do not hesitate to send us an email. Hope you'll be back our way again one day - all the little extras will be there waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is an old botique hotel. Nothing fancy or modern. Think of it as visiting relatives in Newport Beach.

The staff is great...couldn't be any nicer or willing to assist. The breakfast and free fruit and cookies are a nice touch.

Rooms are dated but spotless. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakd602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for thinking of us as 'relatives' - we like to think that everyone who comes to stay becomes part of the Bay Shores Family. Cookies and fruit are our pleasure to provide; hope you come to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing