We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT FIND ABOUT 77 STEPS FROM THE SAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek
Level Contributor
151 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A GREAT FIND ABOUT 77 STEPS FROM THE SAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We took a chance and it paid off royally. From the greeting at the front desk to the roof-top viewing and all in-between this is one great, quaint, small hotel. We found ourselves within an easy walk not just of the beach and pier...where we watched whales and dolphins...but to a score of excellent restaurants too.
Anything you need to rent is available. Great location, but they do not rest on that factor. They maintain the place with pride and the staff is extremely helpful and attentive. A little better breakfast selection would be nice, but it is ok. The only thing we found weird was that the pillows on the bed appeared to be sized for toddlers. We will return...though we will bring pillows from home. This is about a 6.5 hour drive for us, so we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusCaveCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking a chance on us! I'm glad that you found the staff responsive to your needs and that you loved our location. I'll be checking into your pillow observation to see if our kids pillows have migrated into that room - thank you for bringing it to my attention. Being only 6.5 hours away, we're practically neighbors! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
109
291
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in March based on Trip Advisor reviews. it was a great stay for us. First thing that happened was that I showed up with an extra person as my daughter decided to join us at the last minute. Adjustments were made with no problem.
Hotel is in a great location. I woke up early as usual and took my iPad and a provided beach chair down to the beach with a cup of excellent coffee from the breakfast room. When my wife and daughter woke up, we gathered breakfast and headed for the roof with a great view. Bike rental place just a block away and numerous restaurants within walking distance. Didn't use the car till we left. Very clean and nice. Hope I can get back here someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LobbyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
The beach and a great cup of coffee is how I like to start my day too! Glad we could adjust to your extra guest needs and that you all enjoyed the rooftop. I hope you can come back one day too; thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews for a one night stay while in Newport Beach on business. Like all the other reviews would have liked to spend several nights at this lovely hotel. The staff were warm and friendly, loved all the little extras, and being so close to the beach at this price was unbelievable for this area!! Definitely lived up to my high expectations and can't wait to come back! Thanks Bridget for the postcard - I definitely enjoyed my stay and it was a pleasure meeting you at check-in as well as your colleagues!

Room Tip: The corner room on the third floor had great views of the ocean and the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlOnTheGo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We wish we could have hosted you longer too! Perhaps next time you'll be here for vacation and we'll be able to share more of our lovely area and more of the hotels amenities. Great tip about the 3rd floor corner room - one of my favorites too! Glad I could provide you with great value for your business budget; travel safely while you're out there on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is a great find. We were celebrating our 33rd anniversary on our way to visit family. The room was clean and comfortable, cookies were yummy, and turndown with chocolates a treat so rarely offered any more. Being able to walk to the beach in the morning was a highlight also. Breakfast was varied and we hated to leave! We checked out a movie, but were too busy enjoying Newport to watch it, but they have quite a selection along with beach equipment if needed. The desk clerk gave us a great recommendation for dinner also. Will definitely come again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We always feel special when people choose to spend their special moments with us, so on behalf of everyone at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Happy Anniversary! Thank you for the lovely review; we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We only stayed one night, but, it was really wonderful. They greeted us with honest smiles and extraordinary friendliness. They were so helpful with details, all we had to do was ask. Warm cookies greeted us, too. The room was clean and had fresh flowers in the bathroom! Chocolate on our turned down bed at night made me miss my Mom! We wanted to stay longer but we had to move on. It was a bit farther to the ocean that we thought. Still an easy walk but we discovered we are just soooo spoiled in Oregon to such quick and easy access to park and get to the surf. This was a wonderful sandy beach. We watched the surfers and could even see them from our room! Everything in the room worked properly. Great coffee, cold milk on cereal, and even boiled eggs that were cooked perfectly! Not many places know how to do that :) Parking was simple for 10.00 per night. Definitely worth having it on the premises. We had our wine up on the roof top! What a beautiful sight. The rooms were small, but, very organized and comfortable. It was missing counter space in the room, but, the luggage racks helped with that. Bathroom had large counter. The desk chair was way too short to actually use the desk, but, we weren't there for that anyway. Carpets were clean and stain free. Huge closet. I would definitely go back here again.

Room Tip: Top floor had ocean view, street view. There was some noise from the street, but, nothing worth com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beehappee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review; I'm glad you were able to enjoy all our amenities from the rooftop for the view to the galley kitchen for the boiled eggs! Regarding the parking, I think this might possibly be a misunderstanding as both our onsite and offsite parking are always free but if you could contact me at the hotel, I'd love to personally address your comment. Again, thank you for staying with us, Fred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The staff was very friendly and our room was clean and spacious.
Some of the highlights were:
-the delicious lemon and chocolate chip cookies!
-the location is only a block away from the beach and even closer to the bay
-continental breakfast with lots of options, plus coffee available throughout the day
-rooftop deck with a great view
-free parking
-use of the computer in the lobby to print out boarding passes/directions

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lec_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I wish you could have stayed longer too - then you could have alerted me to the LEMON and chocolate chip cookies! One of my favorite combinations - the staff must have sneaked those in on my day off! So glad you had a great stay and we look forward to your return. Hope the flight back was good; pleased that the lobby computer was of service to you with the boarding passes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Hotel is located in a very strategic point, where you can easily access the beach, the village and the bay. The staff is definitively the best thing the hotel have to offer, they are knowledgeable and welcoming. The rooms are not new, but it is very well maintained and have beautiful surf art works, that gave a special touch to the staying. The roof terrace is a special nice feature of the Hotel, where you can enjoy views and sunsets time. The parking is small, but the hotel will help with the public parking in front. The big problem I found is the noise from the highway, which looks like a common problem along the south California coast. The best option, until the hotel instal special soundproof windows, is asking to stay in a lateral room, which may cost a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for a lateral bay view 3rd floor room at the time of reservation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for traveling coast to coast to stay with us! I very much appreciate your compliments about my staff and for mentioning our amenities. Yes, the traffic can sometimes be noisesome, particularly on busy weekends, and with spring break winding up for us here, it sounds like it was heavy during your stay. Good tip on asking for an off-street room; they definitely benefit from being on the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing