We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Bay Shores Penisula Hotel in December 2012 and we later even returned in the beginning of January after visiting Vegas.
The reception is so friendly, the breakfast is good and you even get a fresh copy of the L.A. Times delivered to your doorstep every morning!
There are freshly baked cookies in the lobby every afternoon and if it happens to rain you can grab a couple of movies from the lobby and cozy up in your room.
The location is also fantastic, right by the beach and close to restaurants!

Anna and Risto, Finland

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helsinkianna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

On aina hienoa saada vierailijoita ulkomailta - Toivon Las Vegas oli hyvä sinulle! Onnellinen olet nauttinut extrat kuten evästeet ja elokuvia. Toivon, että saamme järjestää taas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 587 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a mixed group, some attending a conference and some along for the ride. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The proximity to the beach and restaurants was welcome to avoid driving at the end of the day. Returning to fresh baked cookies, free wifi, parking, and breakfast really topped off the deal. The rooftop terrace is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast or just a moment of sun and quiet. Definitely a place to remember when back in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcfoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013
Google Translation

Tack för att du bor hos oss samtidigt som närvarar vid konferensen. Jag är glad att vi kunde utöka vår gästfrihet till dig och ser fram emot ditt återvändande besök en dag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel six times over the past several years and just booked my next trip for next month. I cannot say enough about it. Very clean, wonderful staff and fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Directly across the street from the beach, great restaurants and the pier. You owe it to yourself to try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel six times over the past several years and just booked my next trip for next month. I cannot say enough about it. Very clean, wonderful staff and fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Directly across the street from the beach, great restaurants and the pier. You owe it to yourself to try it, you will not be disappointed

We LOVE our repeat guests! Thank you so much for your loyalty; I am so glad that we continue providing you with such a pleasurable experience that you keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. It is in a beautiful location, right across from the beach (although no views except from the rooftop terrace.) We stayed in Suite 100, which was nice and spacious, with a king, queen, and and queen sofabed, and the best part, 1-1/2 bathrooms. Nice 50" TV (or thereabout!) and the DVD library adds a nice touch. Continental breakfast is plentiful, and the afternoon cookies are a nice touch. We were given plenty of bath towels (8 sets!) so we were never short, and the small fridge is great, along with the coffeemaker and microwave. It is not 5-star accommodations, so set your expectations appropriately-- it is a cozy, extremely clean and super-conveniently located hotel, within walking distance from the beach and many restaurants, and both the Balboa and Newport piers.

Room Tip: Suite 100 has the additional bathroom, giving you 1-1/2 bath. It is ground level, but since you are...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaveMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed my hotel and that you found the property to be clean, cozy and conveniently located. Yes, the suites do offer more space so I'm glad you mentioned that so other guests can enjoy those additional amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful little gem of a hotel. Clean is not enough to describe the room we stayed in. The room we had was in the corner with a ocean view. I was a little worried about the noise, but do not worry, the windows are double paned. The staff greeted us by name, took us on a tour of the place, and left a nice note on the bed. Woke up and opened the door to a LA Times, with a note about the hotels many services. The room is perfect, I could not find anything to complain about except for the fact we had to leave. Book this place, there is nothing better, never will be.

Room Tip: Just go and let them worry about everything, they will take care of you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Already planning your next trip?..Hurry back, your room and the cookies are waiting! Thank you for your review, so glad you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hotel that we were planning our next trip while we were still there. Everyone was so friendly. We were on the 3rd floor in a corner room (#304) and had a great view of the ocean and bay. The afternoon cookies really hit the spot after riding our bikes on the boardwalk. We also enjoyed the roof deck in the evening with a glass of wine. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrystalD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Sounds like you had a wonderful time - wish I could have had that glass of wine on the roof top with you, it's one of my favorite parts of the hotel! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write the review. Looking forward to hosting you again and welcoming your friends and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Warren greeted us with a big smile and friend "Hello". We felt ourselves unwind right then, after the long drive to the coast. He gave us a tour and we loved it all. The location is a few minutes from the beach, fewer minutes to the harbor, a short walk to good (and great) restaurants, shopping, and the pier. We never drove our car the entire four days. Just walked everywhere. The room was decorated in a sunny beach style, which was great. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and neat. The pillows were a bit odd. Small, square pillows which I found difficult to sleep with. Will just bring my pillow from home next time. But that is a small issue compared with all of the nice amenities this lovely hotel offers. Breakfast with a good variety of foods, and a little dining room to eat in. We took our breakfast to the rooftop terrace and enjoyed seeing the ocean from one side and the harbor from the other. Beautiful! We borrowed two movies from their great DVD library and watched them in our room. Cookie time, late afternoon daily was a delight. We made sure to be there to get one every day. They have boogie boards, beach towels, and other beach items to loan. Laundry facility on site. Parking is tight, but they will feed the meter for you if you have to park in the big public lot next to the hotel, so what could be easier? Lovely place, charming staff. Will definitely stay here again...and again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with an ocean view. Well worth asking for.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your great review. When you come again, just ask at the front desk and we'll see if we can set you up with a more comfortable pillow. Glad you enjoyed the movies and the cookies - always looking to expand the collection so if you have any recommendations on titles just let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,623 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $173 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing