We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful little gem of a hotel. Clean is not enough to describe the room we stayed in. The room we had was in the corner with a ocean view. I was a little worried about the noise, but do not worry, the windows are double paned. The staff greeted us by name, took us on a tour of the place, and left a nice note on the bed. Woke up and opened the door to a LA Times, with a note about the hotels many services. The room is perfect, I could not find anything to complain about except for the fact we had to leave. Book this place, there is nothing better, never will be.

Room Tip: Just go and let them worry about everything, they will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Already planning your next trip?..Hurry back, your room and the cookies are waiting! Thank you for your review, so glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
298
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hotel that we were planning our next trip while we were still there. Everyone was so friendly. We were on the 3rd floor in a corner room (#304) and had a great view of the ocean and bay. The afternoon cookies really hit the spot after riding our bikes on the boardwalk. We also enjoyed the roof deck in the evening with a glass of wine. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Sounds like you had a wonderful time - wish I could have had that glass of wine on the roof top with you, it's one of my favorite parts of the hotel! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write the review. Looking forward to hosting you again and welcoming your friends and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Warren greeted us with a big smile and friend "Hello". We felt ourselves unwind right then, after the long drive to the coast. He gave us a tour and we loved it all. The location is a few minutes from the beach, fewer minutes to the harbor, a short walk to good (and great) restaurants, shopping, and the pier. We never drove our car the entire four days. Just walked everywhere. The room was decorated in a sunny beach style, which was great. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and neat. The pillows were a bit odd. Small, square pillows which I found difficult to sleep with. Will just bring my pillow from home next time. But that is a small issue compared with all of the nice amenities this lovely hotel offers. Breakfast with a good variety of foods, and a little dining room to eat in. We took our breakfast to the rooftop terrace and enjoyed seeing the ocean from one side and the harbor from the other. Beautiful! We borrowed two movies from their great DVD library and watched them in our room. Cookie time, late afternoon daily was a delight. We made sure to be there to get one every day. They have boogie boards, beach towels, and other beach items to loan. Laundry facility on site. Parking is tight, but they will feed the meter for you if you have to park in the big public lot next to the hotel, so what could be easier? Lovely place, charming staff. Will definitely stay here again...and again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with an ocean view. Well worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. When you come again, just ask at the front desk and we'll see if we can set you up with a more comfortable pillow. Glad you enjoyed the movies and the cookies - always looking to expand the collection so if you have any recommendations on titles just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! The rooms were clean and nice, great and friendly service, nice terrace where you can have breakfast and enjoy the evening. They also have complimentary beach equipment. Great location, not far from a nice beach. Delicious complimentary cranberry cookies. Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turquoise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Great hotel! The rooms were clean and nice, great and friendly service, nice terrace where you can have breakfast and enjoy the evening. They also have complimentary beach equipment. Great location, not far from a nice beach. Delicious complimentary cranberry cookies. Awesome.

Thank you for your visit and I'm glad you got to enjoy so many of our amenities. All the years I have owned the property, I have never got tired of the view from the terrace; I'm so pleased you got to enjoy it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

So pleasantly surprised! Super clean, super friendly! Great breakfast! Loved the decor, so perfect for a beach-town. It reminded me of your favourite auntie's house, so welcoming and wonderful. Best feature though is its proximity to the beach! Literally across the street. Stay here, you won't regret it!!

The only 'heads up' I would provide is that the parking lot is small and so is the breakfast room so in busy/peak times that could prove challenging. There's overflow parking which they offer so that should ease that trouble! Just try to eat early or later to beat the rush!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Glad we made you feel at home. Thanks for mentioning the parking; just like to add that if the hotel lot is full, we will feed the meter on the street for you! Thank you for taking the time to write your review; see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Back again with some additional family members. Great as usual and excellent weather for mid February. All staff friendy as usual and a big thanks to Lisa and Ralph who assited us with a couple of problems we had. They asked and listened to our concerns and addressed them more than satifactorily, A+. Family members had not been here before and yes they too would come back, as will we.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAN-BC-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to have the privilege of hosting you and your family again! Glad we could sort out any problems you had - see you (and all your extended family!) again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel represents all the reasons I like to use Trip Advisor. It is a small hotel that represents good value and fantastic service. We had planned to stay there for two days at the beginning of our holiday while we searched for a more upscale hotel. Instead we ended up staying at the Bay Shores for six wonderful days. The location is close to the pier and restaurants (Momma D's is excellent). Loved the warm cookies that are served every day in the hotel at 3:00. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really easy access to the Pacific Coast highway and the 55 freeway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachcomber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I'm so glad that you found my hotel to provide "good value and fantastic service." It will give me great pleasure to share your comments with my staff. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your experience and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing