We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$253
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$226
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$180
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$336
$329
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$291
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$345
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$595
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$188
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
508
87
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
87
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbeach equipmentboogie boardsfresh baked cookiesafternoon cookiesacross the streetcd playersmall hotelfeed the meterwelcome cardfree beachwithin walking distancedaily newspapercity lothard boiled eggscontinental breakfastyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 618 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotell is more like a motell in standard as you enter your room from a balcony running all along the back - which I find kind of charming and old Californian. However it IS a hotell with an excellent reception service offering you to lend a large range of DVD-films, magazines beach towles, beach toys, beach chairs and even boogie boards. We stayed in the rooms 221 and 223 on the second floor and could just see the Pacific Newport Peninsula beach through the houses on the other side of West Balboa Boulevard. Although we could hear the traffic at points it was not disturbing during our stay (in early January). The distance to the really beautiful beach is a 1-2 minute walk, and another 5 to reach the closest pier where a range of shops, coffe places, Ice cream parlors and restaurants can be found. We found a place just meters north of the pier that served a double espresso, a latte and three donuts for $7.
The breakfast at the hotell was really good for being in the US. THey offered a self service breakfast buffe with boiled eggs, bagels with hamburger&eggs, several kinds of cereal, juice, milk, yougurt, bread and different spreads.
My only trouble with this lovely clean hotell so close to a classical surfers beach (with life guard booths running every 100 meters) is that we stayed to short - but it was worth dropping by! Newport is so laid back and lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013
Google Translation

Tack för komplimangen. Vi hoppas att du kommer tillbaka och stannar med oss nydana företaget!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel puts service first. It isn't the fanciest hotel but the kids took advantage of all the free services (DVDs, Beach toys, Breakfast and Fresh cookies).
Located walking distance to the beach, wharf and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We love kids here at Bay Shores and if yours have any suggestions for additions to our movie collection, we'll have them waiting for them on their return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me join the chorus of reviewers who LOVE this small hotel. Great location, GREAT staff members who truly believe in customer service. Ralph and Bridget were both so helpful and friendly. Only a block from the ocean and walking distance to the pier, shops and restaurants. The rooms were lovely and the turn down service was a nice touch as were the evening cookies and the comnplimentary morning breakfast. I will definitely be back. Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Having logged thousands of miles as a business traveler myself, I am always glad when I hear that someones time on the road has been made just that bit more comfortable. Thanks for the review and have a happy holiday...at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I relied on tripadvisor to find a good hotel close to Irvine where I had a medical procedure scheduled. The Bay Shores Peninsula was rated #1 and close enough for me. My husband and I felt welcomed from the time we walked in the door! Warren greeted us with fresh baked cookies and several good recommendations for dinner within walking distance. The room is small but very comfortable bed. The DVD was important as I needed to continue an exercise program I was using. They also have a ton of movies to choose from if you want. Breakfast was ample with fresh coffee, juice, milk croissants, cereal , hard boiled eggs, bagels, and a sausage egg sandwich. Highly recommend without reservation!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleepingduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

So glad that we could play a small part in your recovery. Thank you for your compliments and for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very friendly staff and little extras made this the perfect place for us for a couple of days.
A block away from the beach and close to shops and restaurants we did not need a car to enjoy our time here. From the free beach equipment and movies to the excellent afternoon cookies there were many little touches that make this hotel extra special. We spent a lot of our time in the hotel as one of us was not feeling well so also appreciated the roof top patio where we could eat our food and enjoy the view. The room itself was very clean and tidy with a table and chairs on the walkway outside which we also enjoyed. The physical arrangement is more like a motel than a hotel but this seems to make it even nicer with the openness and courtyard below.
We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for mentioning the amenities you particularly enjoyed. Just steps from the beaches and the shops, our location does make for a great 'car-free' vacation; so glad that you had a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews