We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dining Experience”
Review of Sol Grill

Sol Grill
Ranked #90 of 520 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located across the street from the Newport Beach pier, Sol Grill is your destination for Orange county fine dining. This Chic and popular dining spot serves outstanding California cuisine that delights the palate and satisfies the soul. Pairing award winning wine with a delectable menu set the stage for the ultimate wine and food experience.Start out with their signature Filet Mignon meatballs or delicious Ahi Chowder. Halibut Piccata, Rack of Lamb and Lobster Ravioli are all amazing dishes you will not want to miss.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was there for dinner with my wife and another couple. The restaurant has a warm Bohemian atmosphere with lots of local art on the walls. The owner was our server and she was great, and was able to answer all questions about the menu, ingredients and how each menu item was made. I had the chicken fettuccini jambalaya. It was spicy and very good. The others in our party had chicken picatta, filet mignon, and haibut. Everyone loved their meal and thought their meal was good. On Tuesday and Sunday night when they have wine , beer and sangria specials at $4 from 5pm-6:30. Thurdays they have entertainment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistykmiller, Owner at Sol Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks so much for writing a review. There are so many choices when it comes to dining out. I'm glad you had a nice experience with us:) See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Amid the artifice of Newport Beach, Sol Grill is an oasis of good art, good food, and human warmth. Interesting art on the walls, fun conversations at the bar, and a well prepared, reasonably priced menu.

1  Thank Cliff448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistykmiller, Owner at Sol Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

You don't know how much we truly enjoy what we do and taking care of our customers. Thankyou for taking the time to write a thoughtful and kind review. Hope to see you again:) --Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate here on our last night.
Good selection of food with generour portions. The meatball starters were excellent and main of lamb cutlets and halibut steak. Wine quality and price very good.
Wish we had found this earlier in our stay.

Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistykmiller, Owner at Sol Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking time to write such a positive review! We love our customers and want them to have the best experience possible. We will see you again!:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We come to this area twice a year but had never tried Sol Grill until this visit. Great food at reasonable prices, casual atmosphere and excellent musician on Thursday nights. We're going to return at least once this week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tried The Sol Grill on a recommendation of a friend, and we were amazed! Began with the filet mignon meatballs and a pitcher of Sangria. These were by far, the best meatballs I've ever had! In fact, I stopped in the next day for more meatballs and Sangria. For the entree, our group ordered the Lobster Ravioli, Ahi Chowder, Artichoke Dijon Chicken and Rack of Lamb, all of which were excellent. We finished the night with Vanilla Pot de Creme (and another pitcher of Sangria, of course). The dessert was as impressive as the rest of our meal. The owner, Misty was our server and she was very sweet and attentive. This is a MUST for dining in the Newport area!!!

Thank Cristys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistykmiller, Owner at Sol Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thanks so much! It was great serving you and your family/friends. It's customers like you that make owning a restaurant so enjoyable:) Take care and hope you visit us again. --Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Grill also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sol Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing