We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandson's Birthday”

Newport Landing Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newport Landing provides multiple whale watching trips daily departing from Newport Beach. Whale watching trips are also referred to as whale watching tours or whale watching cruises. Newport Landing offers whale watching tours from December 17th through April 30th. Along with viewing Grey Whales you can expect to see dolphins, sea lions, and marine birds. Join Newport Landing on one of our open to the general public cruises or privately charter a whale watching boat.
Anaheim, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grandson's Birthday”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

For my grandson's 3rd birthday our family decided to take him whale watching. I was able to make reservations for 7 easily online; Newport Landing responded within a day. The trip itself was wonderful. The entire crew was very helpful, we saw many whales, seals, and even dolphons swimming by the side of the boat. It was a great experiance for my grandson; one I hope he will never forget. As for the rest of our party, we had a great time too and will probably go again next year!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    39
    9
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend a Sunday morning.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

From booking our group reservation for 7 online to getting on the boat was smooth sailing. We enjoyed the whole trip. Though we did not order food, the smell of sausage on the grill was inviting as we got underway. There was plenty of room to move about and view the water and coastline. The only negative was that the speakers were not loud enough to hear what the captain was saying. We saw three whales total, one single and a pair as well as some sealions on a buoy. This turned out to be a very enjoyable day. The cost was also very reasonable compared to other places. We came up from San Diego for that reason and we're very glad we did. I will go again and bring more friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank cjinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Put this on your bucket list”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have organized groups to go out from Newport Landing at least 4 times. Of course sightings and passenger numbers cannot be guaranteed so note that you take your chances. The trip we just took 3/23/13 was on an over-crowded boat but we ended up having a great time anyway. People move around to view so we were able to sit and stand and move as needed albeit we were used to a smaller number of people than this time (There were 114 which is the limit for the Nautilus). The crew told us what we were doing and where we were going and we saw a lot of wildlife, whale breeching with his head 3 times, dolphins, sea lions, and we paused for a big feed on a school of fish. Watching the pelicans dive-bomb into the water is a treat! Would recommend but you have to be flexible and know that what you see is not under anyone's control but God's!! Good for all the groups listed below but i can only choose one!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible experience! Beats seaworld anyday!!!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

In the past couple of years, we have been to Newport Landing 4 times already. The first time we went it was ok. We didn't see much. Just a few dolphins and a whale so far away it really didn't count. After that, we decided to go again. We knew it was a matter of luck really. Nobody can guarantee a viewing. The second, third and fourth times were amazing!! We have gone in different seasons, so have seen different whales. On August of 2012 we saw tons of dolphins and a couple of Blue Whales!!! They where so close, you could almost feel as if you could touch them!! The other times we saw common dolphins, grey whales and a huge sea lion, so massive, even the captain was amazed!
You cannot compare seeing animals in their natural habitat to places like seaworld. Seeing animals doing their "thing" in their own natural environment fills you up with amazement and joy. It just can't get better. My now 5 year old has been to all 4 trips and loves it each time! It's been 3 months since our last visit and planning the next one soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GabrielaR601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“waste of time”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went out on a whalewatch Wednesday March 13, 2013. On the afternoon watch , we saw No whales, No dolphins , and a few sea lions on a buoy. I know there can be days with poor viewing , but the crew did not give any commentary on where we were going , what to look for or what was happening .
We were excited to be going out and all came back disappointed ..with rainchecks , but not sure if we would even try again for free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank janiebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Landing Whale Watching also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Newport Landing Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing