We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Meal, steaks on a sizzling plate”

Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Reef Point
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal, steaks on a sizzling plate”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We attended a private party at Mastro's and we were blown away by the service and the food. We were seated in a separate room which was perfect for a special occasion. Our table was served the seared tuna appetizer which was amazing. Even my son, who is not big on fish thought it was delicious. Our waiter was efficient and friendly but not hovering. Our steaks...OMG..to die for, served on a sizzling plate and cooked to perfection. We are talking mouth watering tender filet mignon that will satisfy every carnivore. The sides were served family style, mashed potatoes and creamed corn just like mama made. The cheese cake and chocolate cake were sinful. Ok, back to the gym, but it was worth every bite. Oh, and we were treated to a table by the window so we watched the sunset. Perfection.
P.S. I know it is on the pricey side but since we were lucky enough to be guests I cannot comment on the prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jupiterbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    103
    64
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Expensive and Overrated”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

So if you don't know anyone working at Mastro's and do not have a Rolls Royce to arrive in, don't bother going! We were visitors in town, driving a rental car and Mastro's was recommended by our Concierge. We arrived and the person behind the computer (without so much as a welcome glance) suggested our table would be ready in about 20 minutes and we should head to the bar, without any indication where the bar was! We found the general direction; the noise guided us! There was no possible route to approach the bar as the area was crowded with patrons, let alone find a seat at the bar! We returned and asked if we could sit in the foyer as the bar area was full. Even with this information the person behind the computer continued to send patrons to the bar on their arrival! Our table became available and of course, the table was right in the path of the oncoming food and outgoing bussing! On several occasions I was concerned that the trays, being carried high above the waiters' heads, would come crashing down! Another table close by was vacant for a while. We asked if we could move but were told that it was reserved for someone (special). And special he was! Everyone came by and acknowledged him! The Manager at one point checked in to see how we were doing (he must have seen the disgruntled look on my face!). We told him we were not impressed and the service immediately stepped up. The food was good - I can't fault that. We were offered the signature Butter Cake complimentary for dessert. I would have preferred to choose my own dessert, being gluten-free! Certainly not be recommended if you are "just visiting!"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Poor Reception”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to be greeted by a rather arrogant young man who barely noticed us and who looked down his nose at us, without a smile, and in a rather uppity manner told us that our 8pm reservation would perhaps be ready in 20 to 30 minutes and with a dismissive look told us to find a place in the bar. The bar was full, extremely noisy and without anyone to guide newcomers. It appears that this establishment is only for those who know the proprietor or someone else who is connected to it as all the other people that we saw arrive seemed to know and be acknowledged in a more than friendly manner by those who had ignored us, and to be guided and seated before us. Seems to be a place for the local community, and if so, perhaps they should advertise that visitors are not really welcome.

We decided to stay and try the food as it had been recommended to us by our hotel's concierge. We were finally seated at a table that was right in the path of servers delivering food and clearing other tables. Our server was very pleasant and, over the noise, was able to take our order. About 15 minutes after being seated, we were approached by a gentleman in a suit who asked us if we were happy. We let him know that we were less than pleased and explained the reason. He turned out to be the General Manager and expressed shock at the treatment we had experienced.

The food was more than acceptable. We were, without our requesting it, provided with a complimentary dessert.

The restaurant is large and noisy, and seems to allow very loud patrons and some of the staff to be very noisy.

So all in all, I cannot recommend this restaurant. There are other restaurants that have a far better attitude towards their patrons and who provide as good if not better fare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“THE BEST meal I've ever had”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Friends recommended Mastro's while we were in town for the weekend to surf. We were amazed from the minute we walked in. We arrived a few minutes early and were taken to our table. There was live piano music with a few lovely ladies singing Top 40 hits and reqests...they were phenomenal!!!!!!! The music was upbeat and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We were there on Saturday night and everyone was dressed casually and appropriately from golf attire to high-end. Our server was simply AMAZING. I wish I remembered her name. She was very informative when my husband asked about specific wines (he KNOWS his wine!) and offered polite suggestions as to complement our selections. The tuna tartare wontons were amazing as was the Hamachi appetizers. Our fish dinners were very fresh and cooked to perfection...I almost thought there was only one chef in the kitchen solely cooking our food---it was prepared and cooked that perfectly. The butter cake (suggestion by server as a MUST) was simply amazing...words can't even describe. We travel extensively throughout the world and this was our first visit to Mastro's and I cannot wait to return. Definitely one of my Top 10 restaurants in the world. Exceptional food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mastros”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's a great restaurant-fabulous food ,service & atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.
The key lime pie was also irresistible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pattysuemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing