We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Reef Point
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Would definitely go back. The server was really nice and helpful. I had ordered a cesar salad and she knew we ordered other things so she put in for a half order because she knew it would be too much. That is thinking - not just ordering. I had never been there before so I didn't know you could have a half order. The steak was good and so was the scallops. I was too full but still ordered dessert - which was very good. The bad things were the valet parking and some of the tables being too close to each other. Valet parking was not complimentary. And since the tables were too close together, you can hear the conversation at the table next to you and they could hear yours. The tables for 2 were tiny. So you could either sit close to another table or try to have a meal on these tiny tables that probably wouldn't fit all your plates. Overall, it was still a nice experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooki x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    104
    64
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“5 Star Restaurant”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed Valentine's Day dinner at this wonderful restaurant. The service was great and the staff was very helpful and attentive. The portions are very large and next time we will share. We had the vanilla creamed corn which was excellent and the giant prawns and sole were very good. Our companions had steak and were very happy. The table we had was an alcove looking south and it was not noisy. We shared the butter cake which is incredible. The only item we didn't care for was the sauteed broccoli, mushy and overcooked. I will dine there again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere but lacking something”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The seafood and the service were great. The shellfish towers mentioned in other reviews were showy with their large pieces of lobster and crab legs, with dry ice creating a layer of fog rolling out onto the table. The staff bent over backwards to please, even for the large group I was with. Food was very fresh and well-prepared, but lacked imagination. Presentation (the appearance of the food on your plate) was actually much less than you'd expect for this caliber of restaurant, and lacked any special spices or sauces.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dcookfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ate a wonderful meal here, but I agree with one comment and that is the proportions are huge. The steak was one of the best my husband has ever eaten. I had the lemon sole and it was excellent as were the roasted Brussel sprouts. Our waiter, Ryan, was great, helpful with suggestions, but the entire staff was very attentive. it was very noisy and the music from the bar just added to the confusion of sounds. it makes conversations difficult. This is an expensive restaurant, but everything is in California. It was a great treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Only perfection”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been only to two locations of Mastro's restaurants: Newport Beach and Las Vegas. Different places;however, the same pleasant ambiance, great food, and impeccable service. Newport Beach has a scenic view of the Pacific ocean, and in Las Vegas the restaurant is almost hanging over.Crystals in City Center. Wine collection is impressive, it fits everybody's palate and price. I always like to order seafood appetizers and have a stake or Scottish salmon as an entree. Sometimes in Newport Beach we would have dinner at the bar, listening to a live music. It is so much fun. I will strongly recommend this restaurant to anybody who likes good food, good wine and great locations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing