We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service, Marvelous Food and Perfect Atmosphere”

Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Reef Point
Rossmoor, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Service, Marvelous Food and Perfect Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I went to Mastro's Ocean Club to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. This restuarant is located on the coast between Corona del Mar and Laguna Beach, beautiful scenery. From the moment that we arrived we felt very attended to. Our table was ready a few moments early (reservations are a must!). The service that we received from our waitress was 1st class. We started with an amazing shrimp (prawn) cocktail that came to our table surrounded by dry ice (presentation was perfect). We ordered salads that our waitress had custom made, they were so large we should have shared. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass that was "ok", but the portion was quite large and brussel sprouts that were to die for and there were enough for left overs. My husband ordered the bone-in filet that he said was prepared to perfection and had ALOT of flavor. Then at the end of the evening our waitress brought us the most amazing dessert plate in celebration of our anniversary. I would highly recommend Mastro's. It is a bit pricey, but worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalMom9295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    102
    61
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the Mac & Cheese and Butter Cake dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is to die for! They have great food and cocktails! I go back every time for their Mac & cheese and the butter cake dessert. They have good seafood too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merlot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service+delicious food=worth every penny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The restaurant is located in one of OC premium shopping centers. Great service throughout the entire evening. Lots of delicious choices and huge proportions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 911wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ambience and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's great to be able to enjoy a drink, a good steak and live music any day of the week. It's a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The service is good and it seems to always be busy so make sure to have a reservation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mastro's Ocean Club: the Ultimate Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Mastro’s Ocean Club is located in gorgeous Newport Beach, California. Older and more sophisticated persons are seen in this high class beachside restaurant. When the costumer walks in, they see a beautiful front desk area with a trickling wall waterfall. As they are escorted to their table, they experience a very open, breezy, ocean resort like feel. There’s a beautiful ocean view that turns into a front row seat to see an amazing evening sunset. One thing that will catch your eye is the giant tree growing in the courtyard in the middle of the restaurant from the floor all the way out of the ceiling. There’s an extremely talented pianist that plays and sings popular easy listening music in the dim lighted bar that had a few flat screen televisions with a football game on. Mastro’s is always very busy and full of life especially from 7pm to 8pm.
When visiting Mastro’s, one must be sure to try their signature side of lobster mash potatoes. The mash was wonderfully seasoned and the texture was amazingly soft and fluffy. It had a light, golden, orange color to it with huge, juicy, tender, lobster chunks. Mastro’s Ocean Club’s lobster potatoes are truly one of a kind. It was the perfect side dish to the 40 lbs. ribeye steak I ordered next.
Paired with the lobster mash potatoes was a thick, juicy, melt in your mouth, cooked to absolute medium rare perfection, ribeye steak that was cooked in a 1,500 degree oven. This steak was served piping hot on a 400 degree plate! The ribeye was still sizzling! And if you wanted your steak cooked a little more you could slice it thin and let it cook on your plate! A very unique idea. The steak cut like butter and was to die for. It was an absolutely perfect cut of meat.
The fried calamari was also cooked to perfection. It was beautifully seasoned and extremely delicious. I find that at some restaurants their calamari is a bit rubbery and bouncy when you try to chew it. Mastro’s calamari was tender and easy to chew. The breaded fried crust around the squid was crunchy and very flavorful. Paired with the calamari was a side of aioli sauce. They complimented each other very well as the aioli gave the calamari more of a spice that was addicting and made it hard to stop eating. I also enjoyed the way they plated the fried calamari. It was all neatly placed on the plate with a half slice of lemon tied up in a cute yellow net to catch the seeds.
Overall Mastro’s had excellent service and extravagant presentation. The employees were very kind and proficient. The food was all freshly cooked and baked. I was very pleased with everything I had ordered. Mastro’s Ocean Club was the ultimate dining experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cierra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing