We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tower of Seafood”

Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Reef Point
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
272 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing tower of Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I ate here with a large group and was not disappointed in any way. The atmosphere is very cozy and chic. When we arrived for dinner at about 7:15, the dining room was already packed full and had great energy. The wines chosen for us were lovely and we all were amazed when a tower of seafood arrived will billowing smoke from dry ice. The seafood and the sauces accompanying them were delicious. The entrees were equally good. The service was attentive and paced just right for our large group because, while we were all having a great time, we didn't want to linger over our dinner for hours. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to come again sometime soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    102
    61
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Enjoyed having a light bite in their beautiful indoor/outdoor piano bar - Excellent crab cakes and seafood salad. Pricey but worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Can You Say Magic?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

3 years ago I took my mom to Mastro's Ocean Club for her 85 birthday. We have returned every year since to celebrate. Last night was her 88th and it is hard to find the right words to communicate how marvelous the evening was. From the hostess who immediately acknowledged my email request for a certain table, to the waitress in the bar who suggested drinks, to Alicia our incredible server who outdid herself (forget the requisite piece of chocolate cake acknowledging mom's birthday - Alicia made sure mom received a platter full of goodies) the evening was magical. This incredible waitress also brought the singer over for a private and exquisite rendition of Happy Birthday. Robert (our waiter from last year) stopped by to congratulate my mom in her native German, lingering long enough for us to be in awe of his command of the language. We had no less than 5 people waiting on us hand and foot including the busboy who noticed we liked the bread and packed us up boxes to take home. We are always joined by my mom's best friend and both ladies are always impressed with the service but this night especially they noted that it wasn't just our table being treated like royalty, it was every table. Lest I forget that Mastro's Ocean Club is a restaurant, I should mention the food. Fantastic! Delicious! Incredible! Alicia deftly suggested that perhaps we would like to eat family style - a nod to the fact that my mom and our guest did not look like they had large appetites. We were so grateful for the suggestion since Mastro's portions are beyond generous. We shared a Ceasar salad (how lovely not to be charged for this extra effort), we also shared a scrumptious salmon tartar tower. For the main course a 33 ounce rib eye that melted in our mouth, was sliced and served piping hot and the incomparable vanilla battered sole was placed on the table. Then, of course, there was the desert: butter cake and three giant creme puffs accompanied by a pewter dish of real whipped cream. Drinks before dinner were Long Island Ice Teas. The place was lively as we left and beautifully serene when we arrived for our early dinner (we have a long drive). We were pampered as we watched the sun set over Catalina Island at the table we have had each year. I cannot thank Mastro's enough for the wonderful food, ambiance and setting. But the one thing I am ever so grateful for is the magic they work that makes my mom younger every year as the waiters flirt and fuss and Mastro's Ocean Club creates memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had an amazing meal at Mastro's Ocean Club on a recent visit to California.

We did not have reservations but were able to eat dinner at the bar. The service was fantastic and we were able to order from the regular dinner menu. The seafood tower, lobster mashed potatoes and butter cake are not to be missed. It was a lot of fun trying the various martinis on the menu.

The restaurant was very beautiful, a band was playing softly in the background and added to the ambiance. Also great for people watching!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!! Great Food!!! Wonderful place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We areally love to be there , the restaurant is really nice, the atmosphere and the view is increible!!!
and of course the food is wonderful!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mastro's Ocean Club - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing