We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Didn't Want To Leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We didn't want to leave. We stayed in the ocean front suite and what a view! The room is quaint and very nicely decorated with hardwood floors and a fantastic king bed. The pictures on their website are very accurate.The open air windows allow you to hear the ocean waves at night. The entire staff was very nice, especially the housekeeper. The only down side to this hotel is the bar located next to it, actually below it. (I am not referring to Mutt Lynch's on the corner. That place is always a party!) This bar looks like a quiet little place to have a nice glass of wine some good food but later into the evening the patrons get a little loud and when you have the windows open in the room to listen to the surf those leaving the bar take that all away. The music from the bar can be loud at times but for the most part tolerable. All in all it was a great 4 nights. (Pricey at over $300 per night but we got a fantastic off-season online deal that lowered the cost.) We would definitely return to this hotel again, we just wouldn't stay in the room over the bar.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suite over the bar. Choose the other one to the left as you go up the stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 237 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

When we stepped into our room following a long east to west coast flight and road trip - our reaction was "Wow!" The cool pacific breeze from our large window refreshed us immediately. Although the beach was steps away, we had a front row seat to the most gorgeous sunset ever from the comfy wicker chairs placed by the window.

A unique feature was the luxurious raised tub, strategically placed for privacy but with a glass wall allowing us to relax in the whirlpool while still feeling a part of the beach scene outside. We woke every morning to local surfers enjoying the waves at daybreak near the pier. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff attentive and friendly, the location an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We loved the Fly n' Fish Oyster Bar located right next door. We also particularly enjoyed bicycling around the beach area and Balboa Island. The hotel is also a short distance from the boardwalk spanning the Newport and Balboa piers..great for walking and rollerblading!

Newport Beach hotel is a great antidote to the glass and concrete crackerbox hotels. A small hotel with a "beachy" vintage feel.
We enjoyed the hotel so much that we added on an extra day to our stay. Next year we plan a family gathering there as we feel that the Newport Beach Hotel is a great central location for us all, with much to offer all ages and interests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobi5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Newport Beach Hotel is very well located across from the Newport Beach and a public city metered parking lot. Very well situated to watch the stunning sunset on the horizon of the Pacific Ocean from the two upstair front rooms or the first floor centre sitting area. The breakfast included was very nice. It also has a pre-paid gated private hotel parking lot. It could be better if an in-room safe is provided. The beach chair, beach towel, beach toy, beach bike are provided free.

Room Tip: Room # 114 is very spacious for 3 adult and one child in this little hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liuriviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff made this one night stay extraordinary. From check in with Marcie to the housekeeping mother-daughter team to getting to know the adorable Hannah that afternoon (and another evening chat after dinner) made the stay seem like several days. The lobby is great and everything was very clean. We will stay there again when back in the vicinity. Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: As mentioned in other posts, try for the two rooms up front, though I am guessing you have to book t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel could not be in a better location, you are literally across from the beach with restaurants surrounding you. The hotel staff is wonderful and very friendly. The room was nicely laid out but very small, it was would be tough for 2 people to share. There was also a bug issue in my room that I heard other hotels guests complain about as well so for those reasons I likely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff at the Newport Beach Hotel was exceptional, assistant manager Marcie was very accommodating to our request for an early check in, granted this was after a holiday weekend in September, so traffic was a little light. We had the Mariner Room, which although was on the small side, the bed was comfortable and the room very nicely decorated with the nautical theme, huge shower and extremely clean. There is a nice sitting area on the second floor that overlooks the beach and is a great place to have an afternoon bottle of wine taking in the sights. One of the great benefits of this hotel is the free use of beach cruiser bikes, this is the only way to tour the beach & nearby Balboa Island, this is a must. It is also great to have free use of beach chairs and towels for the beach. The only reason why I rated this Very Good vs. Excellent is due to the size of the room, although bigger rooms are available. We would stay there again great value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room is lovely and the people who work there couldn't be nicer. The tricky thing about booking and paying for "beach-front" hotels in California is that just when you think you've considered everything, there's a new obstacle. There are no buildings between your "ocean-front" room and the actual ocean, but there is a parking lot full of 4 lanes of cars, tons of honking etc. If the picture in your head is one of serenity and the sounds of waves lapping on the shore, you have a lot to block out here. That said, don't pay extra for the ocean-view and enjoy the bikes, the towels, parking, wine, breakfast and terrifically friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RET46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
587 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,623 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range: $220 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing