We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room is lovely and the people who work there couldn't be nicer. The tricky thing about booking and paying for "beach-front" hotels in California is that just when you think you've considered everything, there's a new obstacle. There are no buildings between your "ocean-front" room and the actual ocean, but there is a parking lot full of 4 lanes of cars, tons of honking etc. If the picture in your head is one of serenity and the sounds of waves lapping on the shore, you have a lot to block out here. That said, don't pay extra for the ocean-view and enjoy the bikes, the towels, parking, wine, breakfast and terrifically friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RET46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    37
    30
    9
    13
See reviews for
37
100
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I loved this hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, large spa bath and was beautifully decorated.
We were in a room back from the beach and it was very quiet although not a lot of sunlight got in the room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I loved the free cruiser bikes you can use. Great to ride up the boardwalk which is right outside the hotel. The wifi was good and you could get it anywhere in the hotel and the breakfast was simple but very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Taking a trip to Newport Beach Hotel was an absolute pleasure. Staying at the hotel captured the hustle and bustle of people making their trek to the beach...summing up Americana at the beach for the summer. Our hostess provided us with bikes, locks, towels and boogie boards for our day for fun in the sun. Tutti Fruitti yogurt is around the corner and plenty of dining within walking distance. Our hostess was kind and extremely helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My finance and I recently stayed at the hotel at the beginning of July. We had a wonderful visit. We've stayed there twice so far and have enjoyed both trips. The staff and customer service was excellent and very accommodating! Great customer service goes a long way and they provide it. One of the best attributes about this place would be the location. It will literally take you ten seconds to walk to the beach and put your little tootsies into the water. Yeah, that close! It is also next door to the infamous Mutt Lynch's restaurant/bar. They provide all the amenities from beach chairs, towels, umbrellas to boogie boards and beach cruisers to ride up and down the board walk. The rooms are average but very clean. They also provide a continental breakfast in the morning to start your day. The only negative mark I would give this place would be the parking situation. They do provide enclosed parking at the premises which is a definite plus, however if you show up in anything bigger than a Mini Cooper you're going to have a problem. Even for the professional valet parker the spaces are a little difficult to maneuver into. All in all we love this place and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

this is a very nice little hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great location right on the beach! you can borrow bikes and street chairs for free. also there are a great number of bars and restaurants close by. we only stayed for two nights, but wished we had booked the room for longer.

Room Tip: choose a room to the front to enjoy the beautiful view on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank stefanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Once again we visited this wonderful place. Never got in a car either walked everywhere or rode the bike provided by the hotel. Very relaxed and a friendly staff. Very Clean. And very helpful. Cant wait to got back.

Room Tip: Each room has its one personality!!!! Rooms in the front have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Newport beach Hotel in late June, perhaps the first full weekend of summer, as the beach was crowded and people were mingling and wandering all weekend. The hotel is lovely and the staff could not be more accommodating. We had a comfortable room with a huge glass enclosed jacuzzi tub. We also spent both evenings in the second floor lounge overlooking the ocean. We were offered beach chairs and bikes compliments of the hotel. The continental breakfast was very nice and we could sit and relax in a living room type atmosphere while sipping coffee and reading the daily paper. This is the only hotel we saw on the boardwalk, and the ocean is right there. We also parked behind the hotel which was tight, but convenient as parking was at a premium on the weekend. We would definitely come back here as we really enjoyed out stay. There is a nice restaurant right next door and then a beach bar. I was initially concerned about the noise from the bar, but it did not impact our stay at all.

Room Tip: Did not have a pool as it is right on the ocean. Did not have a fitness center, but walking the boar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Property: Newport Beach Hotel
Address: 2306 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing