We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUn and GREAT food”

Muldoon's Irish Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Muldoon's Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Anacapa
Description: Celebrating nearly 40 years, Muldoon’s is the real thing. A warm generous & friendly pub with fine pub food. Situated on the corner of Southern California’s #1 shopping - financial district Fashion Island - Newport Center, Muldoon’s is known for her two pubs, outdoor courtyard and cozy Dublin dining room filled with booths and a warm fireplace. Locals call Her their “neighborhood gem” in a neighborhood filled with excellent restaurants. But, there is only one Muldoon’s. Great for lunch, dinner, Sunday brunch and private events. Muldoon’s has a lively happy hour, live music - dancing on weekends. Celebrating St. Paddy’s Day is the best! Fit for foodies and those in the know of the greatest ales, lagers beers, mean cocktails and notable wine. Muldoon’s is the home of Sindi Rae’s Dark Chocolate Pudding when she’s in the kitchen! Her Awards: Best Pub in Southern California & the OC, Best Food, Best Burgers, Best Guinness, Best Irish Coffee & Best Staff!
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FUn and GREAT food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our first time... muld wine, UNbelievable stew, nice atmosphere... really a joy and a pleasure... couldn't ask for more... even a Big parking lot...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    17
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luck o' the Irish”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I never thought I'd find a good Irish pub in Newport Beach, but I was pleasantly surprised by Muldoon's. The menu was excellent. I can recommend the appetizer bangers (sausages), the Irish Stew, the Pot Roast, and the corned beef sandwich, all of which were delicious, albeit somewhat overpriced - it is Newport Beach, after all. The desserts I sampled were nothing special - mediocre apple pie, trifle, and chocolate pudding. The service was better than average, and I can understand why - the wait staff have to wear these cheesy get ups that I can only assume is the management's idea of Irish peasant clothing. However, the ambiance was great. I went to school in the UK, and I can honestly say the atmosphere was authentic, rather than Southern California's idea of an imagined Ireland that probably never existed. If you're pinin' for the old sod, Muldoon's is probably the best thing you'll find in Newport Beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Irish bar with out a Irish beers”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want to go to a Irish bar and drink Coors, Bud, and miller than this is the place for you! The location next to Fashion Island makes it some what pretenious

Helpful?
Thank DrCICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justaguyk, Manager at Muldoon's Irish Pub, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
In response:

We have Guinness Irish Stout (for which we have won Guinness Perfect Pint Award multiple times), Harp Irish Larger, Smithwicks Irish Ale, Boddingtons Ale , Stella Artois, Locally Brewed Stone I.P.A as well as two of our own House Hand Crafted Micro Brews; a Wheat Ale and a Blonde Larger. You are correct that, Yes we do have one Bud Light handle, also and you can get a Coors in the Bottle only. Miller we do not carry. I would contest that we do have Irish Beer and take our beer service very seriously.

I would like to thank the poster for their input, but would respectfully disagree with your comments. I have not heard anything in return from the personal communication send individually to the original poster over 2 weeks ago. To this end feel that a public response is warranted to correct what I believe to be imprecise information.

We always appreciate feedback from all our our patrons and encourage suggestions on ways to improve and better serve our clientele. We have been in operation under the same ownership, in the same location, for 38 years and are always striving to improve our guest experience at every turn.

Slainte'

Muldoon's Irish Pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Corned beef on rye, washed down with a Murphys and served by a comely barmaid...good lunch!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Taste of Ireland”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Revisited an old favorite while in Newport Beach last week: Muldoon's. It's been a few years since I had last visited but the return was like seeing an old friend. Plenty to choose from while looking over the menu. Couple of must to recommend: crispy chips with malt vinegar instead of fries...and give the free soda bread a taste! Worth the trip alone just to indulge in their soda bread...honestly. Made two appearances on this visit...shrimp and chips which offered a twist on the classic fish and chips entree. Second stop over had the Celtic which featured corned beef with cabbage on a tasty beef burger. Comes with a mustard sauce on the side to add some zip. If you're able you can enjoy a classic pint as well. Sunday afternoon featured a band in the courtyard area...but note that it does get loud. But hey, it's an Irish Pub remember.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muldoon's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 

Been to Muldoon's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing