We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is fine, but nothing special”

Il Barone Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Barone Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We saw this place on Yelp and thought we would try yesterday. It is new but the chef was the lead chef at Antonello's, our favorite restaurant in Orange County. We were NOT disappointed! Carpaccio di Cinghiale, which was excellent. We also had the Trofie al Ragu' di Coniglio which is pasta with rabbit ragu. The pasta was homemade and the ragu was different but really flavorful. We never would have thought of rabbit as an entree, but here we would order it again!
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Food is fine, but nothing special”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had heard many positive things about Il Barone and had high expectations. Our assessment was that the food was fine, but no better than a number of other nearby Italian restaurants. The ambiance -- which was more on the stuffy side of fine dining -- was not so appealing to us. This may be more of an attraction for others.

Perhaps the biggest disappointment was the wine list. It was very-Italian focused on generally overpriced. Despite the fact that it is small, they didn't have our first choice. Our second choice was slightly warm on arrival.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fine & Elegant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't look like much on the outside but very nice & elegant inside. At 5:30 on a Friday afternoon we were the early ones but the place filled up very quickly. All the staff was very attentive even as busy as they got, our waitress Sabrina was very personable & knew her wines.

The food had good presentation, well prepared & tasty. The fried on the outside & soft on the inside rice mixture was an unusual appetizer, good but at $15 a liittle pricey. Our main courses were specials, an oxtail stuffed ravioli w/ a wine must reduction sauce. The other was a blackened cajun pepper crusted salmon mild & flaky. They ran about $35 each. The italian glass of wines were a reserva red for the pasta & a white for the fish came to $24.
Total ended up over $100, pricey for al lot of folk but here at Newport Beach about average.
We are staying at the Faimont NB, across the street with a few restaurants nearby within walking distance but Il Barone is one of the higher rated ones & in my opinion rightfully so..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank socratesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a charmer”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The service was excellent and the waiters were extremely helpful when choosing an entre. My sister and I shared two entrees, one appetizer and desert (to go). Everything was perfected prepared, presented and tasted marvelous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“They have lost their edge”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been a fan of this restaurant, but sad to report their success has gone to their head. What was one of the best , if not the best Italian restaurants in OC, is now ordinary at best.The servers are still very professional, but the food does not justify their enthusiasm .I ordered the cuttle fish pasta with lobster. It was over sauced , with little if any lobster meat . My wife and both son ordered the chicken Parm, nothing special. Really , how can a" 4 starred "restaurant fail to make that dish? It is Italian food 101.
The prices are way out of line for quality of the food. Hopefully the Chef owner will once again regain control of his operation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, nice restaurant”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been here a couple of times, and have had consistently good experiences. Their heirloom salad with mozzarella was simply superb - full of flavour and beautifully prepared.

I am very fond of their pasta carbonara - the pasta was perfectly cooked, and the silky smooth sauce was delicious.

They had a good wine selection, and we had a lovely bottle of wine for $75

Tips - it can be a little hard to find if you come at it from the wrong side. It is in the same area as the Korean BBQ - you have to walk away from the BBQ, parallel with Macarthur blvd, past the tapas place (on the right) and the nail salon (on the left), and Il Barone is at the end of the rank of shops. The entrance is on the end, so follow the building round to find it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheepdip2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Barone Ristorante also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Il Barone Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing