We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem!”
Review of Pescadou Bistro

Pescadou Bistro
Ranked #98 of 513 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on a non assuming strip mall on Newport Blvd at the beginning of the Newport/Balboa peninsula near Lido, this is a cozy French restaurant family owned and operated since 1998. The sitting is casual yet elegant with tablecloth on the table. Authentic French menu a la carte and prix fixe menu as well. Nice wine list of mostly French wines.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautiful, but comfortable, restaurant with traditional French fare prepared with love. Owners, Jacques and Olga, consistently create delicious food, reasonably priced, and beautifully executed. They also have reasonable corkage fees plus a decent wine list - also reasonably priced. New "no corkage" policy on Wednesdays which is a nice treat for those who prefer to bring their own wines. The soups are always delicious and their nightly Blackboard Specials are really good deals. The special fish is always outstanding and last night's Halibut over Fingerling Potatoes was delicious. My husband enjoyed the Mussels and Frites (always a favorite with choice of broth - last night's pick was the saffron broth). The Blueberry Tart and Coffee was the perfect ending to another fabulous meal at Pescadou!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Erin,
thank you so much for your nice review, it was really nice seeing you.
Thank you for your continuous patronage.
We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
Sheers!
Jacques and Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went back here to the old reliable French restaurant and Jacques did not disappoint. The menu had a great selection of various dishes that we all wanted to try out. Starting with escargot and merguez then followed with lamb chops, trout amandine and beef bourguignon, Rounding it out with their fabulous desserts. Food was just like in France. Service was also attentive, from the water to the wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank betamax12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your very nice review of Pescadou Bistro and thank you for your patronage.
We are looking forward to serving you again soon.
A bientot,
Jacques and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant once a year for the last 5 years or so when visiting Newport Beach. The food and service are consistently great. I had the asparagus soup and duck and my wife had the pate and steak. All was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gregmerkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review of Pescadou Bistro and thank you for your continued patronage.
We are looking forward to serving you soon.
A bientot,
Jacques and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great French bistro with traditional dishes such as moules frites (mussels with french fries), escargots, duck breast, chicken dijonaise. The french fries are to die for, with truffle oil I think. Escargots are just garlicy enough and properly cooked so soft and not rubbery. Duck breast was cooked perfectly med rare, with a peppercorn sauce. Lamb chops were also excellent, properly spiced and perfectly cooked. A real specialty were the merguez sausages. Try them. They were authentic, just like in a Morroccan restaurant in Paris! Affordable wine list. Chicken dijonaise was rolled breast with spinach in the middle. Great flavor. Try the St. Emillion half bottle! Pescadou also offer set menus that are great value. This is a must visit in Newport area. Excellent service every time I go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank poz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely return to this lovely French Bistro. Service was wonderful when we were the only party at 5pm on a Sunday, but when restaurant filled to capacity with the same one waiter and one assistant, we were all but forgotten. I hope someone was out sick, because the good was delightful. I especially loved the escargot, endive salad and ratatouille. My patents loved the chocolate mousse, but I didn't like the orange flavor. Moderately priced for the quality. Would have been a five if the place hadn't filled up.

1  Thank uoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescadou Bistro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pescadou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing