We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic French bistro”
Review of Pescadou Bistro

Pescadou Bistro
Ranked #95 of 514 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on a non assuming strip mall on Newport Blvd at the beginning of the Newport/Balboa peninsula near Lido, this is a cozy French restaurant family owned and operated since 1998. The sitting is casual yet elegant with tablecloth on the table. Authentic French menu a la carte and prix fixe menu as well. Nice wine list of mostly French wines.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pescadou Bistro is a perfect small French bistro. If you are looking for an upscale gourmet restaurant along the lines of Laserre or Tour d'Argent, this isnt the place for you. This is a bistro more like Deux Magots or any of the lesser known hangouts scattered along the Boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris, only a lot less touristy. The food is good, the reasonably priced wine list simple, and the ambiance is outstanding as are the owners, Jacques and Olga. Sometimes it is quiet and calm inside and other times, when crowded, it's noisy and lively. Hey, it's a bistro. My wife and I lived in France for several years, return there often (so color us Francophiles), and consider Pescadou our default restaurant in the area.

Thank Papa_and_Toto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderfull comments about your experience at Pescadou Bistro.
We are looking forward to serving you soon.
A bientot,
Jacques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a small celebration recently and Jacques and Olga really made it into a real special occasion. They had decorated the tables and set our group in a private alcove. Since it was also Newport Beach's food week, the prix fixe menu had wonderful choices from the appetizers, entree's and lastly desserts. I enjoyed my pepper/anchovy starter and the lamb tangine was really tender and served in its own pot. It was topped off with a pear crumble dessert. My wife gushing about the way the potatoes were made, flavorful from being cooked in the duck's fat, soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and the experience. Lastly, bringing bottles of wine was a good move, considering a reasonable corkage fee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank betamax12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure serving you.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Jacques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love french food being francophones and came across this restaurant through browsing the listings and ratings on TA. Upon checking the menu online, we could tell that the restaurant serves authentic french food. It was not too hard to find, had easy street parking, and was very quiet. We were not disappointed! This is one of the best french food we had in North American for a while. Prices are reasonable, owner is very welcoming and you could tell that there were a lot of locals inside.

I will definitely come back the next time I am in Newport beach and wish Pescadou was closer to home. It would have been a favourite for sure!

If you love french food prepared the authentic way, be sure to check Pescadou, You won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank safar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadou B, Owner at Pescadou Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Terrific french food in a low key and cute restaurant located in the unlikely place of a retail strip center on Balboa Blvd. Charming once you get in the front door.

Thank Jes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chosen out of the Zagat book as a surprise for a relative's birthday dinner, we were all very pleased with Pescadou. Everything we chose was tasty, well-cooked and well-presented. We had the duck appetizer, a salad nicoise, a baked tomato tart and a green salad to start, then went on to steak and pomme frittes, lamb, rabbit in mustard sauce and a baked casserole of vegetables, cheese and shrimp. Then we had dessert...............yum! Everything was wonderful and the staff were very helpful and charming. I've eaten rabbit in mustard sauce in France and this was much better. It's a little hard to find but they do have parking (which we missed) and outdoor seating (where you can bring your dog). Yes, we WILL go there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DayCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescadou Bistro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Been to Pescadou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing