We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom
Ranked #17 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went to Harborside for lunch after whale-watching. I appreciated having a nice restaurant nearby. My parents are getting on in years, and we didn't have to walk a long distance, or walk back to the car and drive. It was a bright, spacious place with large glass windows. The waiter was pleasant and efficient. Our party had the sliders, soup in a bread bowl, the fish tacos, and I had the veggie sandwich. I asked for extra avocado on the sandwich, which was no problem. Everyone enjoyed their food. My only criticism about the veggie sandwich was that the skin on the cucumber was a little bitter. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    66
    24
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service was great, food was great and the atmosphere is terrific. We went on a weeknight during our vacation so it wasn't too busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour, Service Excellent!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family of 5 went to a happy hour here after coming back from our day trip to Catalina. We were there during happy hour on a Tuesday. Food options were very good, and service was outstanding. Great spot to check out the bay, have good food, and grab some drinks! Calamari, Chicken lettuce wrap, and Ahi Nachos were very good. My kids had the saloon burger and mac n cheese, and everyone seemed to be happy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Happy with Harborside”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

While looking for Newport Landing Restaurant discovered
Harborside - yes - all the while checking TripAdvisor. Location
On Newport Harbor works and the food (Seafood) surprised to the upside! First time ever trying
Ahi Tacos Appetizer. They got it right! Grilled Salmon - Seafood Pasta - really excellent - fresh -
Honestly most of the dinner conversation circled back to how good the food is.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Salmon Salad was great.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Ate here twice for dinner.
Our server was friendly and bubbly, but the service could have been better. Hubby had a turkey dinner, I had a salmon salad, our meals did not come out together, sorry thats a pet peeve with us!
However, when my salad finally arrived, it was worth the wait, in fact, it was so good, we returned later in the week. No problems the second time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 527Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing