We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, atmosphere and good prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom

Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom
Ranked #23 of 501 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Staff, atmosphere and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

First of all this place has the best location overlooking the harbor. Shawn and Jack are two great bartenders that really make you want to come back. This place has a happy hour 7 days a week 12-7 and the prices are really good. By yourself you can get full for less than $10 with quality foods. If your a oyster or mussel fan I highly recommend those. This place really has it together all around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCStolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food and service in a historical building with a view of the Newport Bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had an enjoyable dining experience here during Restaurant Week this week. And the view of the Bay is great from this historical "blast from the past" of a building (the Pavilion) near the Balboa Pier on the Newport Peninsula. We had out of town guests and it's always great to look at the old photos on the walls of how this area used to look! And the food and service and value was excellent. The RW menu included a class of wine (or other beverage), choices of three salads, choices of about 8 mains, and choices of 4 desserts, so there was something for everyone! The salads were huge, as was my rack of baby back ribs, and the chocolate cake dessert was outstanding. Our server was attentive, checking in with us frequently, and was very helpful with my friend who is seriously gluten intolerant. We all walked away from dinner very full and very satisfied! As a side note, they have a great Happy Hour, what they claim is the longest HH in Newport Beach...12 noon - 7pm, every day, also with a great view of the Bay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch with a view of the marina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stopped for a late lunch at the Harborside Restaurant in the historic Balboa Pavillion. I had spotted it on our ferry crossing on the cute little 3 car Balboa Island Ferry, and found a metered parking place nearby. Although I was expecting an outdoor patio or terrace it did have a marina view from inside, although on a beautiful, sunny warm January day we should have sought a more appealing outdoor setting.

As it happened to be restaurant week, we both opted for the $15 two course special, with several choices. We both had Harborside Salad and the opakapaka with roasted red potatoes and fresh vegetables. The salad was large and not bad at all, but not particularly memorable. We both enjoyed the huge piece of opakapaka crusted with macadamia nuts and panko crumbs, with a mango/pineaple salsa. Both the vegetables and the fish tasted fresh and totally OK, just not Wow! Service was fine, perhaps the almost empty dining room is influencing my feeling that we won't go back, but for lunch with a bit of a view, it served its purpose. The bar seemed a bit more lively, and more open to the view, but that was from looking in, don't know if it actually had a less obstructed view.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our family group of 8 adults showed up without reservations for lunch and the staff was most accommodating by moving tables to give us a great view of the bay. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was really good. Everyone was happy. My Rueben sandwich and chicken tortilla soup was great. Super location and very nice ambiance. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoDesperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The wifey, our son and I ate here one evening during her business trip back in July 2012. It was also during our son's birthday. The food was great! The service was great! The staff was very friendly. The view of the harbor is nice. You can watch the various boats cruise by. We recommend this restaurant. The next time we are in the area we will stop here again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Harborside Restaurant & Grand Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing