We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately Not Good”

Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #7 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Newport BeachEstablished in 1996, Bluewater Grill in Newport Beach was the original inspiration for what hasbecome the leading premium seafood restaurant chain in Southern California. Owner-operated since its inception, the waterfront restaurant on the docks in historic Cannery Village specializes in Orange County’s freshest seafood, classically prepared and served at a fair price in a friendly, casual atmosphere. New lunch and dinner menus, printed daily, feature more than 40 varieties of fresh seafood and shellfish annually. Other highlights include a shellfish bar, kid’s menu, patio dining, full bar, weekday happy hours, full wine list and monthly tasting events.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unfortunately Not Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently had dinner there and ordered Boulbaise, Linguine Vongole and a Caesar Salad. The Caesar was quite good. The broth in the Linguine Vongole was heavy and very oily. It lacked any refinement, acid, or balance. The pasta was over cooked but the entree came with a very large number of clams. The Boulbaise was also disappointing. While the broth was a little better than the broth on the Linguine Vongole it was still not good. Further, the pieces of seafood in the Boulbaise (at $23.75) were low quality and appeared to be left over end cuts, etc. This is a nice restaurant in a good waterfront location. It is unfortunate that the food is just pumped out for the masses with little apparent managerial oversight or effort to produce truly good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NBDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    172
    65
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view..great location...lovely owners...great seafood...Newport Beach tourist delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great view..great location..lovely owners..seafood fresh and wonderful..Newport Beach tourist deligt.

Helpful?
Thank Lundahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julcickas, Owner at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the great comments and the four stars!!! We truly appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things.
Jim U
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood at great prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is our favorite local restaurant! Blue Water Grill located near Lido Village in Newport Beach has a cozy bar in addition to inside and outside seating options on the waterfront. They offer a good happy hour menu and a large variety of seafood offerings on their regular menu... local and fresh fish.
My favorite item to order is the Lemon Pepper Mahi Mahi on a bed of mashed potatoes. Really has a kick in the sauce!
I also enjoy blackened white fish such as trout, catfish on dirty rice with mango salsa.
BWG is known for their excellent clam chowder too.
Their warm sourdough bread is a great beginning to a wonderful meal.
A real plus to this restaurant is that they do NOT charge a corkage fee (up to 2 bottles) if you prefer to bring your own wine.
The service staff is always friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kalsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More a fast food restaurant than dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to visiting the blue water grill, in the day with the outdoor seating and views it looked great but we were left under whelmed. We rang ahead to make reservation but were advised none would be required and they would make sure they could seat us but when we arrived we were told there was a 20 minute wait for a table, or we could sit at the bar and eat.

As the bar actually overlooked the grilling area and cooking stations we thought it might be a nice experience so opted for the bar, especially as the actual restaurant tables seemed quite basic looking anyway, no glitz or glamour here.

We ordered drinks and a calamari starter to share with our mains, the calamari came quickly and was really good but we were still eating it when our mains arrived! We had the swordfish and Mahi Mahi. The swordfish was really quite good also, although the Mahi was more average.

Shortly after our seating the restaurant started to empty and in just over 40 minutes, we too found we were ready to leave and were back home in less than an hour, which was a shame.

The food was good but the speed of service was a little too good. The lack of effort in the interior dining area was a let down for an evening meal, maybe a better day, or early evening experience, when you can sit outside and watch the boats, or in the summer months, where the harbor views make up for all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floridakeys2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This place was packed...why?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been meaning to go to this restaurant ever since it opened and finally made it last Sat. nite. We got there at 5pm and it wasn't busy at all. However within what seemed like minutes it was full. Maybe I'm missing something but I don't get it? The food was average and the decor wasn't anything special, in fact the place is quite small. Husband had scallops and shrimp and I had red snapper. My husband said his dinner was good and he liked the fries (who doesn't like fries?) however my fish was over cooked and my vegetables were basically cut up raw squash. The side salads were nothing special. For what you pay for this place I expected it to be better than it was. Probably won't come here again. Wanting fish...I can think of better places to go for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank my_red_dress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing