We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Roy's - Newport Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Newport Center Drive
Transit: Valet Parking available.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Menu has enough variety to suit most. Food and service were both very good. Music was a bit annoying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lili_505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    40
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
656 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Roy's offers a great mix of Hawaiian, Asian, and European influences. We've eaten at several of their outlets, including Newport Beach. They offer a consistent high quality and a good range of fish. At this location, make sure you are in the main dining room. The overflow spaces aren't as nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is one of our favorite Roy's despite our first time there. We have been to numerous Roy's both on the mainland and in Hawaii and I must say, this Roy's is one of our favorites. Their classic fish dish was done to perfection. The atmosphere was vibrant, but not too loud. Our waitress was fantastic. Would definitely come back as this has become one of our favorite places to dine in the Orange County area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love Roy's! We have been to the Roy's in Pebble Beach and had the best time and a great dinner. This Roy's has a totally different atmosphere-but very nice! It is California casual in a dressy way! The food is fabulous from the entree right through to dessert and coffee!

The service is great-food timed perfectly.

Roy's is such a treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ate at this location the first time and food was awesome. Starting from appetizer, the entrée and the dessert was so good. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Newport Beach also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Roy's - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing