We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet, Romantic, Excellent Service.”
Review of Villa Nova - CLOSED

Villa Nova
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 55 & PCH
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet, Romantic, Excellent Service.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Service:
Excellent

View:
Beautiful

Food:
Wonderful Presentation on Plate - Meal was just ok.

Very nice setting for a date.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warrior44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irvine Ca
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thought it would be a good and appropriate time to have dinner at Villa Nova, in view of the fact the place is up for sale auction shortly. We had Chicken Marsala and Chicken Parmigiano...which was excellent. The server Cliff, was a real pro and was a real character.
Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner experience. Give it a 5 Star rating!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrokerPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlinghurst
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service, plus a jazz band!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We noticed the building on our way from the hotel to the pier earlier in the day, and I took a photo of it because it was so pretty. When we got back to the hotel we were trying to decide where to eat, and remembered the photo we had taken. It was about 9:30pm but they were happy to take a booking and we walked down right away.

The service was fantastic - our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, but not to the point of being in the way. I had the catch of the day which was halibut, and it came served with pasta in a marinara sauce, and vegetables. As in most American restaurants, the portion size was huge and I wasn't able to finish it.

We also had a bottle of Californian pinot noir which was recommended by the waiter. After dinner we sat in the bar and had another glass of wine and watched the jazz band play. One of the bar staff was also able to recommend some further places to visit on our trip.

I'd definitely eat here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank onlysometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hello Marylin and Joe DiMaggio.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Originally it was a restaurant at Sunset Strip. It was the place where Joe DiMaggio had a blind date with Marylin Monroe. However,in it was moved to Newport Harbor. I love this restaurant. Live music and great food and wine. It is opened late. Gnocchi with Italian sausage, Lobster Fettuccine, Osso Buco and Scallopine Piccante are my favorite dishes. Done to perfection. Ambiance is beautiful and relaxing. Service is very good. Prices are surprisingly reasonable. Do not miss this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I usually eat at our usual haunts..... Nick's, Javier's, Rock-n-Fish, Gulfstream BUT we wanted to try something different for our 1 Year Anniversary and we loved it! We thought it would be an older crowd since the restaurant has been there for such a long time but it was just the opposite. We had a reservation and they sat us immediately. The restaurant was busy and we still had a table on the water! Our waiter was great, the food was so yummy and the wine was fabulous. The restaurant is low lit and romantic and there were people there of all ages. We had 3 glasses of wine, garlic cheese toast (a MUST), the Vaticana Salad, Manicotti and Chicken Castellana. We topped it off with a chocolate souffle and our entire bill was $90.00! Not one complaint from either of us! A perfect night and place to celebrate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blessedbymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Nova also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing