We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place! Solid menu. Nice atmosphere”
Review of Villa Nova - CLOSED

Villa Nova
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 55 & PCH
Arizona
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Nice place! Solid menu. Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Went for Christmas Eve dinner! Sat us at the window during sunset... very nice. Great food. Prices are comparable to any other Italian restaurant. Certain dishes are a little high, but still a nice place. Worth every penny if you're out for a romantic evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChatWithMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Try their abalone!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've been to this restaurant twice now and can't wait for our third visit in January. A fine dining experience that one remembers long after leaving the restaurant. On the pricey side, so if people are on a budget, they might want to limit their visits to special occasions (or early bird!). This is Newport Beach, so will probably need to use the valet service. Reserve one of the booths facing the harbor. Best to go early for two reasons: early-bird menu and view (I don't think early bird is available on Friday/Saturday). Each time we've had superb service, and beyond excellent food. Can't say enough. This is one of the rare places where one can still get (farm-raised) abalone (price shows it, but it's worth it!) Great wine choices. Great food. It's got it all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliciapowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view adds to meal”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great old world Italian-style restaurant. Dined on weeknight and was seated in booth that faced the harbor, which was beautiful at night. Our waiter was great, again a throwback to the days of old - in a good way. Food was very good and while not unreasonably priced for area and atmosphere, not value priced. Other diners ranged from couples dressed up and obviously celebrating special occasion to families. (We were dressed casually - nice jeans type outfit.) Not sure how crowded it gets on weekend, but plenty of tables available during week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Good Italian Restaurant in Newport”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A very good Italian restaurant with good food and a great view of the harbor. We enjoyed it very much and recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a celebratory meal.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Unlikely looking location but when you step inside and see the view from almost every table, it's perfect. I was there with my wife and two friends. All of us were celebrating wedding anniversaries and my daughter, when making the reservation, had advised the restaurant of this. The meal was really delicious and not overly priced. When it came to dessert, my daughter tried to order a souffle and a creme brulee to share, the waiter whispered something to her and 20 minutes later appeared with a souffle for each of us (well, not for my daughter! :-)) complete with a ramekin with cream and strawberries, a candle, and a piece of chocolate which read "Happy Anniversary." All four souffles were "on the house." Very generous.
My only concern was that a party of a dozen or so came in and were seated adjacent to us, and since there was no partition, it got excessively loud. Other than that--it was a really great night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlazingTartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Nova also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing