We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport Beach Staple”
Review of The Cannery

The Cannery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cannery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street
Level Contributor
88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Newport Beach Staple”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A staple in Newport Beach for many years. Nice location on the water and pleasant surroundings. but the restaurant needs to update its menu to reflect the location. I can't say much more than that. Noisy, lots of people, a party atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    170
    46
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, poor organisation”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here on New Year's Eve. When we booked we were specifically asked if we wanted to sit upstairs or downstairs. When they explained the different types of entertainment between the two we picked upstairs. When we arrived on the evening they said they had our reservation but no record of the fact that we wanted to be upstairs. We were first given 2 options of a high table behind a screen with no view at all of the entertainment or along the sushi bar stuck between other people. Eventually we got a nice table in the next room to the entertainment. When our starters came, they got my wife's wrong. When our main course came, my steak was severely overdone to the point when I called the waiters over she immediately apologised and took it away without me even having to say anything. Which meant that again we were eating separately. The food was actually very tasty indeed when they got it right eventually. The staff was very friendly and apologetic but it still put a downer on what supposed to be a lovely night out. Even the food was very good, we will not be going back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Werner V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been eating at this place for over 30 years. But my last visit was a bit disappointing.. I ordered a non spicy Bloody Mary that was so full of pepper it was awful. I have never had such a bad drink. I ordered fish and chips. The chips were good but the fish coating was hard and not tasty. And the service was soooo slow. Two hours for lunch is too long in much opinion. We waited over 45 minutes for our entree,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Multi-generational fun”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

In town visiting and was told this was a great place to go (situated right on the water and nice mix of seafood and steak). We all enjoyed the unique setting and, if you are a baseball fan, had a lot of fun looking at a wide assortment of baseball memorabilia on display. On balance, we all enjoyed our food...some loved their choices (salmon, chicken) but others not as much (mixed seafood platter). I would go back as service was great and it's location and uniqueness make this worth another try.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DallasAyrUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Level Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“delicious food, scenic location!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great service, delicious food! We had the seared swordfish and fish tacos. Fresh, cooked to perfection. Something for everyone. Beautiful scenic setting on the water.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cannery also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Cannery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing