We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Newport Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Italian”
Review of Il Farro

Il Farro
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/22
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #27 of 569 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Italian dishes focused on taste and quality, accompanied by the freshest signature cocktails and wine. Enjoy a romantic walk on the beach, watching the sunset, followed by a delicious casual meal at Il Farro, named for the hearty and delicious whole grain, farro, used in many coastal Italian dishes. We import ours directly from Italy, where it is farmed organically, low carb, low gluten, high in fiber and, best of all, tastes AMAZING! We also feature fabulous seafood dishes (we are steps from the ocean, after all) with halibut, salmon, mussels, clams, shrimp, calamari and more. Other dishes include steak, veal and chicken-enjoy with a specialty cocktail from our full bar, or a robust glass of wine. Finish your meal with one of our homemade desserts from tiramisu and gelato. Established in 1993 Il Farro Restaurant sits in the heart of the Newport Beach Peninsula, right by the Newport Pier. Its authentic European vibe has attracted a vast clientele of locals and tourists
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called after an afternoon on the beach, and would certainly return.
The welcome and service were excellent, but we did visit around 5pm so it was quiet.
All of our food was great, with a good choice on the menu and the prices were reasonable.
We would certainly return when in the area again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Shozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food! Good service! Reasonable prices! Well done. If your looking for a casual comfortable place with good food and a very good selection this is it!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

This was our third or fourth meal at Il Farro. We brought the entire family for my wife’s birthday and the 10 of us enjoyed spectacular food with exceptional service. We filled the center of this small restaurant with our large table and the head waiter immediately told us to take our time, there’s no rush as we have the table for the evening. We started with appetizers of mozzarella and sliced tomatoes and an order of calamari which was cooked to perfection. Among the many dishes we enjoyed were the Ahi tuna served seared as a special of the evening and the assorted fish platter which were grilled and seasoned perfectly. One of the highlight dishes of the night was the spinach fettuccine tossed in their Parmesan bowl, the pizzas were just like that found in Napoli. Dinner for 10, appetizers and wine came to $400. An awesome meal with exceptional service deserves a return visit soon!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sanford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Stumbled on this place while wondering around Newport. Best authentic Italian food I have had for a while. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Ange_Strach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We stumbled into this place from the beach in Newport and we had a great experience.Our server (Rosie) was really attentive and personable. The food was really good and the atmosphere was also very warm and inviting. I would recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank orion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Farro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Il Farro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing