We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Nice Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Farro

Il Farro
Ranked #29 of 501 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Farro Restaurant, located in the heart of Newport Beach, serves authentic Italian dishes with a focus on taste and quality. Enjoy our homemade desserts to finish your meal.
Petersaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Food and Nice Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is right at the base of the Newport Pier, next to the parking lot. It is nicely decorated with pictures of northern Italy. There was a wide variety of dishes. Since it was lunch, we chose just a sandwich and a salad. They were beautifully and deliciously prepared. Our server was conscientious and polite and we enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    52
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious! Large portions, GREAT value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Il Farro is a must visit while in the Newport Beach area. You can get an amazing authentic Italian meal for a GREAT value.

We had the mushroom pasta and mushroom ravioli, both fabulous. We had the Farrotto con Salsiccia which was great. They also have a dish Ravioli di Farro allo Zafferano which is made with saffron and DELICIOUS.

Dessert was great too, we had apple tart, fruit tart and profiteroles.

You will not be disappointed! While there are probably other Italian restaurants with more gourmet Italian food, Il Farro is cheap and delicious. It's also more casual than a fine dining institution which is nice for a beach vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“I've had better Italian food elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My friends and I were at Newport Beach and decided to eat here since they had outdoor seating with no line. There was a view of the beach, but it certainly wasn't a 180 beachfront view. I had the 3 course meal which included a carpaccio, the farro risotto Genovese, and the panna cotta (since they were out of tiramisu). The carpaccio was delicious, the risotta was pretty good, but not every bite was another one I was looking forward to. It was ok. And my friends really enjoyed the panna cotta, but because it was vanilla flavor, I didn't really care for it. The bus boys were really good about refilling drinks, so it made the service pretty good, but the server was a bit slow with presenting our check and payment. I don't think I'll ever come back here, but it's worth a shot if you're really curious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“It is an italian nice restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

For a beach vacation area this is a good choice. They have large portions (you may share it) at very reasonable price. The ambience is nice and welcoming you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice variety on menu. Delicious salads and pasta. Cioppino was great as well as farro pasta and lasagna. Good service. Have enjoyed it twice in 2 weeks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachlaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Farro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Il Farro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing