We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italy by the Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Farro

Il Farro
Ranked #28 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Farro Restaurant, located in the heart of Newport Beach, serves authentic Italian dishes with a focus on taste and quality. Enjoy our homemade desserts to finish your meal.
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Italy by the Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Situated on a walk street just 50 yards from the beach, this quaint Italian Trattoria offers a slice of Italy. The cafe is similar to Italy, with the coffee bar and desserts at the entrance inviting you to come in and take a table. The menu prices were very reasonable and the food delicious.
We had the catch of the day grilled then covered with fresh tomatoes, cilantro, onions and olive oil. It was light and fresh. Our waiter said he had been working there for 13 years, always a good sign of good management. We ate outside and imagined we were in Sorrento. It was such a nice experience and we will definitely be back! But if you have the expectation of finding authentic Italian food in Newport Beach, then you need to go to Italy. Ciao! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1travelwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always spot on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Such excellence. We love everything about this place. Try the carpaccio. It's too wonderful to describe. Great wine and great coffee in addition to the phenomenal food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2cocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We enjoyed our lunch and the service at Il Farro. The meal was very good and the dessert was a wonderful sweet to finish well. The staff was friendly and attentive. The portions were large and wonderfully seasoned.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to this restaurant just because of the reviews of trip advisor, and i'm really disappointed with those reviews: that tells me that those people never ate real italian food... I had a mozzarella di bufala with "salumi" (bresaola, prosciutto di parma, and pepperoni that doesn't exist on Italy) and all that stuff was old and not tasty.
Then the pizza... good if was an american restaurant.
The service was good, but I will not come back. If you want to eat good and real Italian food, the best that you can find in southern California, are Il Barone (by santa ana airport) and Il Pastaio (by Rodeo drive, Beverly Hills)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Wentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Notable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our group found it rather boring, nothing to write home about. Rather dated decor, not memorable food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NKR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Farro also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Il Farro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing