We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage Home is as Described”
other travelers have booked this property
Street View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View
Dutch Door Angled Street View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Street View
Dutch Door
Angled Street View
Seating and Barbeque on Patio - The table in this picture has been replaced and seats 8.
Neighborhood view
Living Room/Dining Room - view towards the kitchen
Living Room/Dining Room - view towards the street
Side view towards the front bedroom
Open Floorplan - Facing the Two Front Bedrooms
Newly Remodeled Kitchen complet with stainless steel appliances and granite counters
Seating for 6-8 with additional expansion leaves.  Additional seating for 8 on front patio.
Spacious Bathroom with Two sinks/granite counter/carrara marble floor.  Cute Subway tiled shower/tub
Double Bunkbed room
Front Bedroom with full size bed
Master Bedroom sitting area
Small garage with driveway - can park two cars tandem.
Master Bedroom With Kingsize pillowtop mattress
Side yard
Back House With Laundry room
Interior of Back House TV area
Angle towards kitchenette
Kitchenette with sink and microwave
Bathroom With Shower
Bedroom with new full size pillow-top mattress
The beach at sunset (straight out from the house)
The beach at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Newport Beach, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy2991...
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage Home is as Described”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Renting from Amy was a smooth process from beginning to end.
Property was beautiful. You can see the pacific from the front patio. We really loved the beach cruisers which took us to so many hidden spots. My grandchildren felt at home in this family friendly property which has everything and more. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Dear Nancy,
I'm so happy that o u r home was a great fit for your family! Glad you enjoyed the bikes and saw other areas of Newport! I hope you will be back again!
Sincerely,
Amy Manser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankeetex...
Conroe, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“California beach trip full of treasured family memories ...”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Owners attentive to every detail of our trip! - great response to emails and calls.
Our family with 6 adult children - some with their spouses and new fiancés - and 3 grandchildren all had a wonderful time! Plenty of beach chairs, boogie boards, bikes, and sand toys to keep all happy! Location ideal for quick trips to store - or local eats - and catching the sunset each night on the beach! Our little cottage in the back was a great retreat for "Nana & Grandpa" when the day was done.... (and "big kids" still up chatting or gaming...!)
Loved the decorative charm of the home the best! - Least was the Parking challenge for local relatives..(but the ones who wanted to visit always found one! :)

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm of the home with the location!
Liked least: Parking for local relatives
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
We are as happy you had a great stay! Thank you for your patience with the icemaker situation! We hope you will be back again next year!
Sincerely,
Amy & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristidop...
1 review
“Great time!”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We loved staying here. It is an ideal location to the beach. They have many beach necessities so we didn't need to bring them. Plenty of room for our family of 7. Walking distance to grocery store and restaurants if you don't want to drive. Also close to Disneyland which we went to a couple of days. It was extremely hot while we were there and we had every fan on full time. Nice that they provided those. Loved having access to kitchen and laundry. We didn't sleep in the back house but did use the bathroom as there is only one in the main house. We had a great time and plan to return in the future. Thanks for the great hospitality!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Hi Kristi,
I'm happy you had a good time at our home! It has been a very hot summer and I do wish we had air conditioning when it gets hotter than usual! We would love to have you come back again!
Sincerely,
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and dual house.
Liked least: Mattresses in three main bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
Hi Roland!
It was very nice meeting you and having your family at our home. I'm happy your enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your feedback on the mattresses. They are new, quality mattresses but perhaps the pillowtop is too soft for some guests. I myself prefer a firmer mattress and can understand your suggestion.
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be back in the future!
Sincerely,
Amy Manser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portola, California
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The little things the Owners thought of to add...games, kitchen supplies, beach items., and the over all decorating style.
Liked least: The added cleaning fee on top of rental price.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Hi Sandy!
We are thrilled you enjoyed our home and your vacation so much! We hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Amy & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rolina M
1 review
“This is the place to say if you want an unbelievable Newport experience.”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We are from Utah and decided to spend Spring Break at the beach. After much research, we decided Newport was the place to be. I must have looked at over 50 rentals, but kept coming back to this one. The location looked perfect, the pictures were everything we wanted, the price was reasonable, so obviously there must be something wrong. After much thought, we took the plunge and hoped we didn't show up to an empty lot.

This place is as perfect as it gets. We didn't want to leave. Our 18 and 14 year old teenagers both gave it "thumbs up" which is the ultimate compliment. Walk to the beach in under a minute. Low traffic and hardly any noise. Be glad you have a driveway because it is almost impossible to find parking. Comes with so many extras, i.e., beach cruisers, boogie boards, flip boards, chairs, coolers, towels, outdoor shower, etc. Absolutely spotless. I loved taking my coffee out on the front patio in the morning and watch the city awaken. My husband loved the bed. He slept so good, he wanted to take it home.

If you rent surfboards go to the Frog House. They treated us like family. Also recommend the Catalina Flyer.

We will certainly be return guests to this place..

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No radio
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Hi Rolina!
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at our home! It's not perfect but we do try to make it as comfortable as possible and have everything on hand that we would want if we rented a place! We would love to have you back again!
Thank you!
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family720...
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could stay forever!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple in our late 50's raising 5 kids, 8yrs to 14yrs old, and wanted to give them a vacation they could remember. This was it. Short walk to the beach, close enough to Disneyland and Knottsberry farm This place was perfect for everyone. Our bedroom was just away enough for quiet. 3 kids on bunk beds and the teens on their own mini vacation in the little house out back. Beautiful kitchen and bathroom. So many 'little' touches that made it charming. Couldn't ask for anything more!!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm, size and convenience
Liked least: Rained,but not owners fault.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2016
Dear Cecelia,
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and it worked out for your family! I'm sorry I was out of town and unable to meet you - but Mike and I hope you will be back again in the future! Thank you for choosing to stay at our home!
Sincerely,
Amy Manser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing