We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp”

Avila's El Ranchito
Ranked #92 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is know for its tasty mexican food, including its world famous soup from a secret family reciepe.
But what i like the most is the grilled shrimp platter- botangas.
Its fantastic. Huge grilled shrimp with a garlic dipping sauce that is hard to beat anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

To me, good food and good service to hand in hand. No matter how good the food, bad service is what I remember and vice-versa. Avila's has the best of both food and service! Mama Avila's chicken tortilla soup is the 'signature' dish, and it should be. As far as service is concerned, if you are fortunate to have Jodie as your server, you're in for a treat! Always attentive, even when 'slammed' with diners and mixing drinks behind the bar. A new addition to the menu is Deep Fried Ice Cream. Soooo good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burritos”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Fun atmosphere and good food. Bartenders are real friendly, the salsa is honestly some of the best I've had. They have a pretty big menu to chose from and I've never really had a complaint about their food as everything is pretty consistent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golfnewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
2 reviews
“Paloma Margarita was delicious, but not the grilled fish tacos!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We saw this restaurant and stopped before reading any past reviews so I was a little worried. We sat outside which was perfect. I ordered the Paloma Margarita that our waitress said was her favorite. It was very good. Also had salt on the rim. Delicious salsa and warm tortilla chips. Both my husband and I ordered the grilled fish taco with rice and beans. The rice and beans were great, but would not order the fish taco again. It had no flavor or seasonings on it at all. I didn't even finish eating it. I wish I had ordered something different. Everything else was awesome! I would go again and try ordering something different. Mama' Avila's soup sounds yummy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLiz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were craving some tacos after the OC marathon and we found this place and all we can say is fabulous. The street tacos were awesome the beans are fresh and season just right. You will eat everything even if you are full. The best and we will be back!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila's El Ranchito also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Avila's El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing