We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and fresh food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Restaurant Group

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruby's Restaurant Group
Ranked #343 of 501 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great and fresh food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ruby's is always a favourite and the Americana is just about the best. If you don't like Burgers, there are other very good items to choose from. Their fish and chips, for example are very good. Breakfast is one of the best out there. We were at the one on Pacific Coast Hwy in Corona Del Mar at the edge of Newport Beach. The chain is consistent no matter which one you visit. It's reasonably priced and always friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johntrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply the best shake (also great view)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Whenever I visit the Orange County area I MUST stop at Ruby's on Pacific Coast Highway for one of their great shakes. My favorite is Banana, Strawberry and Peanut Butter - mmmmm! They also serve breakfast and lunch but I've only stopped for a shake (and the view).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adhphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ruby's on Balboa Pier, Newport Beach, CA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I retro style buger joint at the far end of the Balboa Pier. We had fun visiting on a beautiful day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
873 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Never had eggs benedict on paper plates before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a fabulous breakfast we had at Ruby's on the pier at Newport Beach. We ate breakfast here and it was cooked to order, hot and delicious. The view is great and it is fun to watch the bird and search for dolphins. The kids enjoyed milkshakes for an after breakfast treat. The holiday special milkshakes are delicious. I am just sasd and surprised there are no restrooms. Great meal on the dock.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

On the end of the dock. The food was good and staff were pleasant. Just no bathrooms except quite a ways away on the beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Restaurant Group also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Ruby's Restaurant Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing