We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quintessential Southern California beach vacation...”
other traveler has booked this property
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Enjoy our Comfortable Living Room w/Leather Sofas, Flat Screen TV Cook in our recently remodeled Kitchen, w/Corian Countertops. And pots and pans and dishes galore!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
the 'Sandcastle', Impeccably Maintained, Owner Managed, Steps to Sand
Enjoy our Comfortable Living Room w/Leather Sofas, Flat Screen TV
Cook in our recently remodeled Kitchen, w/Corian Countertops. And pots and pans and dishes galore!
The Dining Area - part of the main room. Seats 6-8
How close are we to the beach? ONE HOUSE AWAY!  A view from our Deck (upstairs) of 35th Street Beach
Master Bedroom w/new Cal King bed, Armoire w/flat screen TV and unique artwork
Master Bedroom, looking towards ensuite bathroom
New Tile and Marble Shower in Master Bathroom. So nice!
Master Bath Shower Shampoo Cubby
Master Bathroom Vanity wCaesarstone countertop
Hall Bathroom w/Tub/Shower combo, Caesarstone countertop
The 2nd bedroom has a Queen bed.
The 3rd bedroom has both a Double (Full) and Twin bed
Laundry Room w/brand new Front Load Washer Dryer
Shower off the sand in our new Laundry Room Tile Shower, under a nice hot shower
Love the rock floor of the new Laundry Room Shower!
Or for a quick rinse after the beach, enjoy the Outdoor Tile Shower!
We have a great beach at 35th Street, w/fine white sand, some waves, and a  easy walk into the surf!
Your Front Patio, right outside your Living Room sliding door + your gas BBQ + patio set
Here's a view of House from Left Side of House (we live in the upstairs)
There's unique upscale Art throughout the House
Welcome to...the 'Sandcastle' sign, outside your front door
Catch a Beautiful Sunset here at the 35th Street Beach
Another Beautiful Sunset, 35th Street Beach.
check out our Big Book of Things To Do, Restaurants in the Area, etc
Your Front Door entrance, ready for you to come on in and start your vacation!
Another gorgeous sunset. We have many:-)
The Surf sometimes is THIS GOOD right at 35th Street!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newport Beach, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Quintessential Southern California beach vacation home!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay in 'the Sandcastle' and would love to return in the future for a longer vacation. We were completely charmed by the area and nearby amenities. The beautiful beach was just steps away and our grandsons loved the walk to the pier, flying their kites and playing in the surf and sand. The house itself was lovely and exceptionally clean and so well stocked that we were unable to find anything that was not supplied by Janice & Bill. We were there over Easter weekend and were greeted with fresh flowers, Easter 'treats' for the children, and a chilled bottled 'treat' for the adults. Such personal touches say so much!! Impossible to recommend and rate this vacation home too highly!! Thank you Janice & Bill!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
It was was a real pleasure to meet you Mary, and have your family for a stay! So happy you found us:-) Thanks for leaving our home in the immaculate condition you did. We do sincerely hope you will be back for a future visit! All the best, Janice & Bill @ the "Sandcastle"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Likes2tra...
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place close to the beach”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house was the perfect location for us to spend a long weekend on the beach with our daughters and their significant others.
The house was very clean, well appointed and the perfect size for 6 adults. We enjoyed their boogie boards and chairs on the beach, their BBQ and patio for meals. The kitchen had all that we needed for the weekend. We were close by many restaurants to walk to and the beach was just a short walk from the patio.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
We so enjoyed having you for a stay at our "Sandcastle". We try hard to think of everything you might need to insure a great vacation, in the house and outside. Glad to hear you had a great stay - and we hope to see you again - soon! All the best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoolbrai...
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sandcastle exceeded our expectations in all respects. Janice and Bill were friendly, helpful and great sources of local knowledge. The apartment was extremely well equipped and had a great location just off the beach.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Jim, so enjoyed meeting you - and so glad you enjoyed your stay here in Newport! Thanks for the compliments - and we hope you'll be our guests again when you return to Southern Cal for a visit! All the best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Jen, so nice to have you and your family for a stay - and we definitely would love to have you return! Thanks for the lovely review and the details you shared:-) We love falling asleep to the sounds of the surf as well! We are big travelers ourselves and very particular, so we try to think of everything you might need to make your stay comfortable and wanting to come back! Hope to have you back! Best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hillaribu...
1 review
“Great location and was very clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I would defiantly stay here again! Very clean and comfortable! Just like the pictures show but better! The beach is just steps away! You can feel the ocean breeze and hear the waves with the windows open!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Quite the change from Colorado:-) We're happy to be your beach vacation choice - and we hope you'll be back! Thanks for choosing our "Sandcastle"! Regards, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C
1 review
“Just like the pictures”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This property is well maintained, clean, wonderfully located, with a view that is tough to beat.
The property owners were very nice and helpful with any questions we had. Overall it was
the nicest home we have ever rented for a vacation. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Thank you for the kind words, Brad. We try hard to have the "Sandcastle" be really comfortable, and filled with everything you need for a great vacation. And of course, we love the location too! We hope yo'll be back for a future stay! Best, Janice & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie A
1 review
“Perfect, absolutely perfect!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Sandcastle is perfect in every way. First off, Bill and Janice made everything easy from start to finish. (We were a group of 5 women on a girls trip.) Bill and Janice were helpful with any questions we had (which were not many because they provide excellent details and written instructions about the accommodations as well as a wonderful, large book with local information about sight-seeing, dining, shopping and anything you could ever want to do).

The Sandcastle itself does not lack for anything! The kitchen is fully stocked, the flat screen TV has every station imaginable (plus DVD's, board games, stereo), the beds were more comfortable than my own bed, and best of all was the keyless entry/exit. The combination lock door made it so easy to go to the beach and not to have to worry about carrying/loosing a key! I also liked that there is a door that separates the bedrooms from the kitchen/den area so the "early birds" and "night owls" could enjoy the den and TV without waking the others:)

The location is perfect, 30 feet from the beach, and we hardly used our car at all, as there are so many good restaurants and shops along the boardwalk. We walked to the local grocery store and grilled out our first night on the lovely front patio and watched the sunset on the beach (from the patio!). Every morning, we walked down the oceanfront/boardwalk to Seaside Bakery for coffee and warm ham and cheese croissants (a must) and sat and watched the surfers catch their waves. Some of the other restaurants we enjoyed were Dory Deli (close to Seaside Bakery) and Gina's Pizza (they deliver too).

Per Janice and Bill's suggestion (one of many that we took advantage of), we rented a Duffy electric boat on the Balboa peninsula and enjoyed being on the water looking at the beautiful houses (while enjoying our spread of food and wine!!). Yes, you can bring food on the boat:) The Sandcastle is also not far from Disneyland and other fun attractions. We enjoyed a UCLA/USC basketball game and ate at the Perch, a rooftop restaurant/bar in downtown Los Angeles, which I would highly recommend (more for adults).

Bill and Janice provide great beach chairs, towels, umbrella, and food "mat" that we used daily at the beach. The beach is meticulously clean with soft sand (beautiful seashells to collect too). It was so nice to be able to walk back to the Sandcastle off and on during the day for food, restroom, to watch the sun rise and sunset, etc.. It is a perfect vacation home, spotless and comfortable, with every amenity imaginable, and you will not need to worry about a thing! We will definitely be back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, spacious house right off of the beach
Liked least: that we eventually had to leave:(
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
Sorry to be late in responding to your fabulous review of the "Sandcastle"! We so appreciate all the nice things you said about the house, the area, the local restaurants and things to do - and us! We love it here too - for so many of the reasons you pointed out! And thank you really, for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests - and we hope to see you again before too long! All the best, Janice & Bill @ the "Sandcastle"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing