We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wee snack of fresh food”

Bear Flag Fish Co.- Crystal Cove
Ranked #12 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bear Flag Fish Company was founded in 2007. Bear Flag Fish Company specializes in the freshest seafood in town. The creation of the company started with the love of the ocean and most of all the love and the knowledge of fresh seafood.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wee snack of fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wow, this was a surprise. California Mexican come fish market. The food is simple and fresh. Great mini Taco's from a selection of fresh fish like from the fish monger. Only disadvantage - couldn't drink beer outside because of the law

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    39
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Super sea food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love Crystal Cove and it's great to be able to sit outside and have a delightful lunch there. I have the ahi seafood salad. Plenty to et and plenty good. I'd order it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing fish tacos and poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

As a New Yorker, I don't get to enjoy good fish tacos very often, let alone poke of any kind. I was introduced to Bear Flag when I was in SoCal last year and got the seafood sandwich. When I returned on another trip recently I got the fish tacos and poke (a new favorite of mine after a trip to Hawaii) and both were nothing short of outstanding. I will certainly be returning on future visits to the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickdecesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
376 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Good Fresh Fish in Causal Atmosphere on the Newport Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very Good Fresh Fish in Causal Atmosphere on the Newport Coast! Great fish tacos, sandwiches, clam chowder, shrimp cocktail.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
200 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fish so flavorful, no sauce needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had the fish of the day - black cod - on a salad. Although the accompanying aioli was great, I left it uneaten because I didn't want to change the wonderful taste of the fish. It was sweet and flavorful and perfectly cooked.

The place is not fancy, but staff was friendly. And the communal tables offer an opportunity to chat with others about what they have and like. We liked our lunch so much we came back three days later for a second go. This time I had grouper - also good, but not as terrific as the cod.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Flag Fish Co.- Crystal Cove also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bear Flag Fish Co.- Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing