We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Water View”
Review of Rusty Pelican

Rusty Pelican
Reserve with OpenTable
Rusty Pelican is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 545 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riverside Dr
Description: With spectacular waterfront views and an eclectic menu of fresh seafood and tender steaks, it's no wonder Rusty Pelican has become a Newport Beach dining destination. We are proud to be a recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017 - a distinction bestowed upon only the nation's premier restaurants.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful room with mirrors to reflect the view. Excellent service, great fish...we had the macadamia crusted halibut special. A relaxing dining experience.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 651 of 788 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had some fabulous grilled seabass tonight. It comes with a succotash of white corn, cherry tomatoes, brussels sprouts and fresh herbs. The seabass was absolutely perfectly grilled to order. The succotash was good and had the brussels sprouts been just a bit more cooked, could have been totally memorable. The service (Jimmy on 4/28 at 5:45 pm) was a bit inconsistent and a lot condecending. The condescending is just bad for this great restaurant. The unforgiveable was the mandatory valet parking ($4. which, of course, will be gratuitied up to $5.): The valet attendant completely reconfigured the settings on the car seat and turned OFF THE AUTO LIGHT settings on my late model Prius, a fact not discovered for several blocks. In an upper-echelon restaurant, the valet MUST presume the departing guest is relaxed and happy and should be sure he or she is leaving with all in good order. So, I think the RP can do way better if it wants its auxillary services to be as great as its food.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been going to the Rusty Pelican for many years but this is our first review of the restaurant. I don't know how they do it year after year but the fresh fish is always excellent, cooked perfectly every time. We took some out-of-town friends who were staying at the Newport Channel Inn down the street and the inn's manager had already recommended the Rusty Pelican to them and had given our friends a coupon for free appetizers for all of us. The appetizer was a skewer of four different kinds of fresh fish, grilled and served with a very tasty sauce and was a great start to our meal.

Most of the fresh fish are on the menu year-round but a few are seasonal. Halibut is seasonal but if they offer it - have it! Ask for it with the shrimp and lobster sauce preparation. Some of the preparations and sauces have some spicy kick to them and others are full of flavor but mildly done, and you can also just have your fish simply grilled. Over the years we have tried nearly every fresh fish item on the menu and its all good, just pick what sounds best to you. Not too fond of the shrimp scampi though - better to pick something fresh. Favorites include the Flagship Swordfish, Pesto Crusted Salmon, Barramundi Beurre Blanc, and the Orange Ginger Glaze Mahi Mahi. There are lots of appetizers/side dishes on the menu and most are also very good. The garlic bread seems like it has a pound of butter on it but it is sooooooo good! Most of their tables are at the window or just one table from the window and the view of Newport Bay is beautiful. If the weather is nice, there are a small number of tables on the dock outside. Boats are always going past, everything from little Duffy boats to big yachts with weddings. Try and get there early and enjoy the sunset. The wine list is good and the service is usually very good, especially if you get one of the long time wait staff. If you like chocolate and still have room, share the warm chocolate torte. Yum!

Secret for a light meal at a low price: grab a window table upstairs in the bar during happy hour when they have half price appetizers and drink specials. Great place, great food, great view, one of the best fresh seafood restaurants in Newport Beach.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love to come for happy hour - very delicious, with ocean front views. I have never been disappointed. I would give 5 stars, but sometimes service is a bit slow getting started.

The food is fresh and delicious. I love to have beer and oysters. The calamari is terrific, and entres are delicious. I especially love shell fish, and it is so fresh and wonderful. I would eat crab legs and lobster weekly if I had the cash!

There are a lot of choices for sea food, but I generally choose to come here. Never dissapointed.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBsleepsurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

WOW . . . . . place was jamming when we arrived starting with a drink in the upstairs bar. Dinner followed by the fireplace looking out on the marina. We shared a bottle of Ferrari-Carrano Chardonnay and started with some garlic bread. My swordfish speical was simply amazing. My mother-in-law, who was celebrating her 80th birthday, received a chocolate lava cake with icecream & a candle to help the celebrate. All was wonderful, relaxing and comfortable.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Pelican also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Rusty Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing