We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Golly Miss Molly!”
Review of Galley Cafe

Galley Cafe
Ranked #88 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
everywhereUSA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Golly Miss Molly!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good things DO come in small packages! When entering the front door -- what an Oasis for us. Brings us back to the good ol' days -- everything custom made just the way you want it. Thought we would stun them by requesting a chocolate egg cream soda but they stunned us by giving us an xtra squirt -- and tasted even better than we ever remembered. Love ALL the food every time we go -- breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Service is always prompt and with a smile ... one of the happiest places we know for (2) people who have been traveling for 26 years. We give it 6 stars! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theboatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Newport Gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Galley Cafe is a hidden gem in Newport. It's a cute little restaurant that has not changed since the 1950's. John Wayne was a regular patron there back in the day. Now when I say little, I mean little, not a lot of seating, we ended up eating at the bar, but we didn't mind at all. We were there for breakfast, which was wonderful and the staff very attentive and friendly. Over all good food, clean environment and nice staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Anywhere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Re connected over the holiday weekend with my usual hash and eggs. Great food, friendly people, good service, location cannot be matched. Diner ambience and good coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemmie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I found this cafe by accident when searching for a weekend breakfast place that did NOT do a buffet. Can I just say, whoopee! It's at the end of the street but there is parking. The food was old time cafe breakfast and lunch food. Pancakes were awesome. For lunch, chicken fried steak. You might have to wait just a bit for a table but it is well worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havebagwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Secret GREAT for breakfast”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The eggs benny are my fave! What a nice relaxing place to go for breakfast. Haven't tried their lunch yet but I know I'll be back. I work at a hotel in Newport Beach and I send the tourists to crappy Wilma's Patio on Balboa Island and save this delicious spot for us Newport locals! ;) YUM

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBCdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Cafe also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Galley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing