We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Dining Experience”
Review of Sabatino's

Sabatino's
Ranked #93 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ate there early on a Friday evening - during the holidays - without reservations. We were met at the door and shown immediately to a table. Our hostess presented us with menus and our waitress, India, appeared right on her heels starting us off with fresh, hot bread and was ready, if we were, to take our drink orders. We opted to review the wine menu and after an appropriate amount of time, she reappeared, took our drink orders and brought them almost immediately. We placed our dinner order and very shortly we received bowls of their Italian wedding soup - compliments of the house! That soup was ambrosia! Our meals arrived and the food was wonderful. The service was attentive but not obtrusive AND the place was filling up with the party goers who must have made reservations because they came in groups of 6 to 10! Still we were never ignored nor treated like the "walk-ins" we were. I say all this because of the previous reviewers who stated that service was not up to par. In our case, the service was top-notch, A-One, couldn't be better. We will go back. And it is a hidden gem in Newport Beach. So glad we found it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank havebagwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your $$$”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

During a recent trip we went to this establishment. Worst service ever experienced! Waited 1 hour for someone to approach us. We asked to speak to the Manager, who was present , when confronted by my husband claimed he was not the manager.
In these times of recession and uncertainty the owners should be ashamed to employ a person that has no regards for clientele.
Don & Jan Logan
Merida, Mexico

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food terrible service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sabatino's is a cute little Italian restaurant in Newport. The food is amazing, especially anything containing their house made Italian Sausage. The only reason I can't rate this restaurant excellent is that their service is not up to par and they put way too many tables in a small area. I dine at Sabatino's frequently and always find service as inattentive. The restaurant could really benefit from having someone oversee problems and addressing them. Last night at our table of 4 we had 2 individuals that had people knocking into their chairs many times during dinner because they just plain put tables in every space they can. The food makes up for what they do not deliver in service or atmosphere but just be aware of what you are getting. Also, lots of kids so if you are going for a quiet evening make other choices. If you are looking for a family restaurant this is the place for you. Don't miss their tiramisu, seriously the best you will ever have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lagunagirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate at Sabatino's with friends who live in the area. This is not a restaurant you would stumble across; Its literally hidden in a housing development. It's definitely one of those hidden treasures that the locals jealously guard and reservations are a must. They make their own Italian sausage (spicy or regular) and its AMAZING! You can order it as an appetizer ( served with sautéed onions and peppers) as well as an integral part of may of their entrees. Good wine selection and great service. Great dining experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, Comfortable Local Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is mainly a "locals" place as it is difficult to find. Sabatino's is known for their housemade Italian sausages. They are wonderful and the Sausage and Peppers appetizer is a must. The food is consistently very good to excellent and the place is very busy on Friday and Saturday evenings. Reservations should be made but you'll still have to wait...just not as long. It is also open for lunch. This is a comfortable, local Italian restaurant with a good wine list and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabatino's also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sabatino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing