We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Great Location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 21 Oceanfront

21 Oceanfront
Reserve with OpenTable
21 Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Newport Beach Pier
Transit: We offer Complimentary Roundtrip Transportation for groups of 8 or more within a 20 mile radius (based on availability). We have Custom Mercedes Sprinters and Corporate Vans. Comfortable, clean white vehicles, staffed with professional drivers. This service is complimentary, driver gratuity is appreciated.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located at the beach with a beautiful view. And as good as the location is, the food and service is amazing.

We came in with no reservation and sat at the bar. The food was grata the wine was good and Ryan was fantastic.

If you get a chance, check this place out!!

Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    14
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had dinner at 21 Oceanfront and were very impressed. The service was wonderful and the food was excellent. From appetizers to dessert I could not find a fault. My wife enjoyed the three-course lobster tail special while I had the osso buco. The osso buca was outstanding over a layer of polenta. The chocolate souffle was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkTwain1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
273 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“beautiful view & great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ended our trip to Newport Beach with a very nice dinner at 21 Oceanfront. Located close to the pier, this is a beautiful restaurant with club-style wood/leather decor and a great view of the ocean. As we perused the menu, we were offered a small hummus appetizer with carrots and celery. For our meal, we chose the day's special -- halibut with a pistachio crust -- and we were very happy. Our server Monika was very attentive, and when we asked for a wine recommendation, she recommended a Martin Ray chardonnay from the Russian River area that complemented our halibut perfectly. Definitely worth a visit for a special dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine Dining and Great Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I booked 21 Oceanfront on the last night of our vacation for something special. It did not disappoint. Just like Jurassic Park, we spared no expense. Everyone ate and drank well while we watched an incredible sunset. My wife and daughter each had a lobster and I had osso bucco. Both dishes were prepared well. We had a bottle of wine from the large selection.

This dinner capped off a great week vacation in Newport Beach

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good food in a traditional steakhouse atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

21 Oceanfront is liking stepping back in time to a classy, old style steakhouse. Then add the ocean view at sunset, and it's a great experience, even before the first bite of food.

The food itself is very good. Steaks and seafood were well done. Appetizers were tasty, and dessert was delicious (even if we barely had room for it by the time we got to it)! 21 Oceanfront isn't cheap, but it's not excessively expensive, either. It was worth the money and a lovely experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Oceanfront also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 21 Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing