We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy sunset and service”
Review of 21 Oceanfront

21 Oceanfront
Reserve with OpenTable
21 Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Newport Beach Pier
Transit: We offer Complimentary Roundtrip Transportation for groups of 8 or more within a 20 mile radius (based on availability). We have Custom Mercedes Sprinters and Corporate Vans. Comfortable, clean white vehicles, staffed with professional drivers. This service is complimentary, driver gratuity is appreciated.
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“classy sunset and service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The best view of sunset behind glass in Newport Beach. Wonderful when it is cool outside. Sit at the bar, listen to live music and watch the surfers catch the last waves before sunset. Drinks are pricey but heck you are here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    15
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genesee, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience and service, but the food was terrible”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Wonderful setting but we were really disappointed with the food. Spinach salad was ok but there was something soggy and tasteless added that ruined a nice plate of fresh spinach. Had the seafood trio with capellini pasta. This had no seasoning or character and the seafood was not fresh. Expected a bit more for this $41 dish. We ordered the flour less chocolate cake for dessert and this was tasteless ans stale. This place needs a good chef. Too many other great restaurants here so we will not be back. The setting is fantastic and it is a good place to get drink and watch the sun go down.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino hills CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant Deliciousness!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hubs and I went for our 21st anniversary and were not dissapointed. Concierge from huntington Hyatt sent us and everything was lovely. Service was impeccable, filet was juicy and tender, pear salad had the best candied walnuts I have ever tasted and the hubs porkchop was HUGE!!! The decor is very classy old school with linen table cloths and clubby booths. I was just too full for dessert which was a shame as they offer a chocolate souffle!!!

Will be back!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alylee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This Place Has great food and views. Loved the Surf and Turf. Only Point that could improve is the service standard of the staff. Our Bus boy looked like Very unprofessional with large diamond earrings and his spiked hair.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LVHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“SUPERB HAPPY HOUR”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

There is nowhere better for happy hour. A window seat at the bar with great live music, and phenomenal food at terrific happy hour prices. The Ahi sashimi is the best anywhere, in my opinion. I also love the escargot, and anything else on the happy hour menu. This is a beautiful place, and it is on the oceanfront. You can't expect anything but pricey - but happy hour is very reasonable.

You can dress up, or down - it is a beach town. The staff are dressed in tuxes.

I have always found the staff friendly, the drinks delicious, and the food amazing. Keep your kids away, though, because we love the romantic atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBsleepsurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Oceanfront also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 21 Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing