We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dry Prime Rib :(”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: San Miguel
Description: The Newport Beach Fleming's can be found at Fashion Island, close to John Wayne Airport, the Island Hotel and the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa. Join us for drinks after work and select from our list of 100 wines by the glass. Then stay and enjoy an innovative menu inspired by our passion for steak and wine, including our new Dry-Aged Prime Ribeye.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dry Prime Rib :(”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I went in for the Sunday Prime Rib Special, Its was very busy and very loud. Of course I got a slice of beef, but it was dry, like it had been pre cut and waiting under a heat lamp. I used extra jus to re wet it, but I don't care for wet beef, just juicy beef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank the f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    65
    33
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fleming's is a great steakhouse, just like all the others which are around. Here are a few things you can do to save some money.

1) Costco occasionally sells Fleming's gift cards, $100 worth for $80. Get em when you can.

2) Join the Fleming's email list, once got $50 off a meal in an email. No blackout dates.

3) Happy Hour at the bar as the best drink prices, and an awesome burger. Get there early, it is packed every day, but the people watching is well worth it!

4) If you bring a bottle of your own wine, be sure to offer your server some towards the end of your meal. More often than not, they will wave the $25 corkage fee, which is a great bonus!

5) Made my reservations on Open Table to get the points.

Hope this all helps. The food is great, just like all the other steakhouses. My advice, try the steak!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justinssvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
356 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a lovely evening here. Made a reservation with open table and showed up early to have a drink in the bar. They ended up seating us 1/2 hour early on a Friday night. Got a table in the back dining room which while still noisy wasn't as loud as the main dining room. Ordered some great cocktails, wine and filet mignon. The food was very good, especially the Fleming's potatoes. The salads were also great. We had a $50 coupon from the mail, which they accepted without issue. Parking was easy at Fashion Island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacqB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Consistant Fine Dining”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fleming's never dissapoints. Great service and excellent food in a classy ambiance. Most recently went there (2 nights ago) for their internet special of filet mignon (cooked to perfection) topped with Cabernet butter & North Atlantic Lobster Tail, including french onion soup or wedge salad (salad was amazing) and a side of spaghetti sqach with lime butter... outstanding. Tremendous deal for the price and surprisingly generous portions. We also ordered a side of sauteed mushrooms which were fantastic as well. For dessert the four of us shared their Moulton Lava Cake... to die for. A perfect ending to a perfect meal. Brought in our own bottle of wine and the $20 corkage fee was very reasonable. Will be back soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great but they push you out.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live nearby Flemings and have visited the restaurant many times since they opened here. The restaurant does very well in this location and is only open at dinner. Why they are not open at lunch with such a captive business crowd around them seems odd. Dinner and the food is always lively and good, but I always get the sense I am being pushed out to turn the table over. I have complained numerous times to management but never get an answer that makes any sense. I limit my visits to special occasions now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indexbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing