We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi this side of Mexico”
Review of nana san

nana san
Ranked #117 of 505 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Sushi this side of Mexico”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been eating sushi with Goro since before his hair turned grey! He is what any sushi chef should aspire to be: Competent, knowledgeble and discreet. He will honestly tell you about each and every piece of fish and once he gets to know what your likes and dislikes are - he will surprise you with his suggestions.

The atmosphere is excellent, the fish the best in town but dont go at noon or 6 and expect to be seated right away. They are open for lunch until 2:45 so go after 2.

I feel like family when I walk in the place. And enjoy knowing a bunch of other people when I walk in.

This place is NOT cheap, but is the BEST. I highly recommend NanaSan - and I am a very picky person.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyalRoadInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would call this place one of the best sushi joints in Orange County. If you are up to spending a few extra dollars, go for the omakase or "leave it to the chef". Super fresh and great tasting sushi with just enough rice, washing all down with some Sapporo beer. Friendly and prompt service. Small restaurant, about 12 tables, with cozy atmostphere in a plain standard OC stripmall. As mentioned, if you enjoy the premium suhi and don't mind paying extra for it, then it's good value. Else order off the menu, equally good food, for a bit less money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanguer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow- My new favorite sushi Bar in Newport Beach”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Don't let the outside ---Strip Mall facade keep you from walking into Nana San- THIS PLACE WILL KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF. The kind and thoughtful service was a refreshing change from other Sushi Bars.
We had Goro as our sushi chef (he is also the owner) He was attentive and respectful of our choices but really blew us away when we let him recommend a few dishes. Some of our favorites included Red Snapper with sea salt and yuzu. Lotus root with Spicy Tuna. and the Kanpachi was crazy good- in fact of the 8 or 9 sushi plates we had -- all were spot on. Bravo to the chef -- We will be back soon

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronaDelMarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious without the attitude!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great tasting sushi without attitude. Some restaurants have the "I'm the sushi-chef, you must listen to me" attitude while others have the "this place is too cool for you, we play lounge music really loud." Not here. Just good sushi, friendly, and just the right blend of traditional Japanese offerings with the Americanized stuff we just can't live without (yes, I need my spider & ninja rolls). Just don't expect Philadelphia rolls though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clyde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed nana san also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to nana san? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing