We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good walking trails”

Upper Newport Bay Nature Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good walking trails”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Start with the visitor center which will give you a good overview of Upper Newport Bay Preserve. There is a short movie which help you understand the preserve. There are good walking trails and most are easy with great views. Expect to spend around 2 hours at the preserve. Parking is free as is the visitor center.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to feel the beauty of nature!!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was possibly the most pleasant two hours we spent away from our great room on Newport Coast. Great walking trails, a nice visitor's center and the one-way, Back Bay Drive along the south side of the preserve is a MUST!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
770 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Urban Wetland with Walkways, Trails, and Startling Wildlife Views.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I spent a good part of the morning through the early afternoon here. It's a rather large marshland preserve just north of the PCH in Newport Beach. I accessed it at the large parking area off of University and first walked southeast to Jamboree. On this route you'll be sharing the paved trail with many cyclists, joggers, and dog walkers. There's a nature center a short walk from the parking lot, a number of social trails down to the marshland, and along Jamboree there's a cycling bypass shouldering San Diego Creek. There's even a Marriott resort at the Jamboree street junction. Bring field glasses if you are a bird watcher. And you'll be amazed at the sweeping views south toward the beach. I also followed the trail along the bluffs adjacent to Irvine Avenue, then drove around to the Back Bay entry which, by car, is a one-way 15 mph road with limited stops but with serene, picture postcard views of the wetland. I really liked this area best and when I return, will spend most of my time looking for wildlife in this region of the wetland. But remember you're really not out in the country here. There's a lot of vehicle and pedestrian activity as well as a mega shopping mall very close by. But it can be a good respite from the even busier Newport Beach action if you have several extra days to look around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you love bird watching - this one's for you”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upper Newport Bay (or as the locals call it - the 'Back Bay') is a marsh preserve filled with tidal birds, plants and animals. You'll see Egrets, gulls etc. Best way to see the whole preserve is on a bike - you can ride a loop at the water level all the way around. With or without a bike, do stop at the nature center, where you will find information on the history and ecological details of the site.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding oasis”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

On a whim, I spent a morning here with my 7- & 3-year olds during our spring break trip from the Midwest. What an unexpected oasis, both in terms of a large natural space in the midst of suburban sprawl, and cheap/ free family entertainment in shadows of Disney.

There are many trails, offering something for everyone. There is a nature center with friendly & knowledgeable staff, some cool taxidermy, and a few live snakes, lizards & turtles. Thursdays & Fridays the offer kids sessions, conducted by wonderful Orange County Park rangers, which include storytelling, craft activities, and a kid - friendly, guided, hands - on nature walk.

Just a wonderful public resource that you should take some time to enjoy if you have the chance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Newport Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Upper Newport Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing