We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bold and beautiful”

Orange Coast Winery
Attraction details
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bold and beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I are wine club members at Wiens winery in Temecula and heard that Doug Wiens, son of the owner at Wiens in Temecula had his own winery in Newport Beach. Doug is also the winemaker for both Wiens and Orange Coast wineries. The location can be deceiving at first because it's in an industrial part of town off 16th St in Newport Beach. We used to work in that area so if you find yourself here, then you are on the right track. There's also a sign out front. The second we walked in we were greeted immediately. Customer service was top notch and of course the wines are fabulous. Once your inside, you almost forget where you are at. There's seating areas in the front and couches towards the back of the tasting room. We met Doug the owner and his lovely wife. On almost any given day you will see Doug holding a glass of wine greeting and chatting with everyone. Orange Coast is opened Thursday - Sunday. I believe hours are 4pm- 9pm Friday and Saturday with happy hour 4-6pm Friday. (They have great appetizers) and 12-9 Sat., 12-8 Sun. We joined their Yacht Club membership. They have different levels of membership and we are able to choose our own wines which I like.

If you are a wine lover particularly big reds and have never visited Orange Coast Winery then you have to go. You will love their wines and guarantee you will have a good experience overall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1hapicamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Date”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We discovered this place via groupon and were so happy we did! We are not from the area but were spending the weekend there and ended up finding this place. When we were there we actually met the owners/winemakers which was interesting and fun. This place is in a funky area but we were told they are hoping to expand soon which might lend itself to more "curb appeal." The people and friendly and the wine is good. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great little hideawy close to home”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We aren't new to wine tasting or wine rooms, and had no idea this little gem was in our neck of the woods. Thanks to groupon, we now do. At first we were a little leary of the location, but only for about 3 seconds. What a fun idea to use this warehouse space as a tasting room.

The staff is very friendly. Roz was our guide through the wines. We prefer reds, and she was knowledgeable, without being annoying. They had a nice cheese plate for pairings, and we enjoyed the wines very much.

We joined the club, and plan to come often. Our other wine membership is on the centrl coast, so it will be fun to be so close, and come frequently.

I don't think we ever would have found it without groupon, so I am so pleased they had this opportunity.

I recommend you support this wine maker and his friendly staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HBsleepsurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozad nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New owners are great and so is the wine.”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We went to the Orange Coast Winery with a group of friends for wine tasting on a Saturday afternoon. The owners, Doug and Debbie Weins, were both there and very knowledgeable about wines as they are also part owners in a family winery in Temecula, CA. The atmosphere was relaxed and our glasses were never empty. A lovely place with a great future with the new owners! The fee was $6 and don't go away without a bottle of the fabulous Weins L'Orange Champagne.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nebtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Coast Winery also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Orange Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing