We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Newport beach to stay”
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doryman's Inn
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really loved this Inn. Wonderful "atmosphere" of old days, fireplace, ocean view, beach location, convenient access to the most restaurants, beach, etc.. I would recommend it to stay anyone - you will simply fall in love with this Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had Room #4 (? -- the one right next to the front desk) which offered a King bed, sitting room, gas fireplace and it was sheer heaven. The front-desk staff were friendly and efficient, the room was sparkling clean and full of personality, and the breakfasts were excellent. The bed was very comfortable, the gas fireplace was cozy and the roof-top terrace just outside the bedroom door overlooked the beach. The hotel provides free parking in busy Newport Beach. We plan to always stay there when we visit SoCal in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife was still teary eyed on the way home. I surprised her with this romantic get away and she was so happy! We arrived early and Andrea let peek at all the rest of the rooms for a future visit. Not a bad room in the this beautiful B&B. Our room was on the corner and our beach view was almost a 180. We where welcomed with rose petals in foyer of our room and beautiful roses on the table. Andrea and Marion made us feel as like family in this beautifully decorated home. The nightlife and local eateries where great. We parked the car and forgot about it till we left. It is on the board walk and there was noise but just close the window and it was fine. An early morning walk on the beach was just what we needed and then a nice breakfast on the patio.We are coming back next year and the year after that etc.

Room Tip: Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RudTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was looking for a last-minute fun place to stay and have been by this place a million times. The location is fantastic, right on the pier. It's beautiful. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The inn itself was quiet...but, the location can be very loud due to the restaurants and bars on the pier. There were still people having fun in the parking lot at 2 am. I was there on Halloween but I think it is like that frequently. The inn does offer earplugs though. The location was worth it though!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room #5 was great, actually all the rooms are wonderful and most have awesom ocean views, laying on my bed gazing at the blue ocean, early afternoon sun twinkling on the horizon, sailboats cruzing, a PERFECT slight cool breeze hitting my face, ahhhhhhhhh, if not for a palm tree I woulda thought I was on a private yacht ! MaryAnn was great, her European accent added to the Victorian ambiance. ok now, you have to understand this is a HISTORIC VICTORIAN HOTEL, so some things are going to be old but this adds to the charm , the antique books smell old...hmm cause their old ! everything is very very clean which surprised me, bed was very comfy , small rooms but that's what they had back in the day, fireplace was romantic... our first nite we actually went to sleep bout 930 pm , we NEVER sleep that early,and slept like babies listening to waves crash, every so often we could hear people near the street but no biggie, fri or sat nite might be different though. free parking is great...free breakfast was yum, quiche etc. sooooo many restaurants to choose :) heres our secrets.. rocknbaja lobster downstairs get one of their seafood buckets, we get the shrimp bucket $19 enough for 3 people, killer tacos.. Oceanfront21 is superb if you want gormet YUM. down the street BlueWaterGrill saltnpepper shrimp deal ! rent bikes 2 hours and go catch ferry over to the candy store. anyways back to hotel, nothing like it ANYWHERE in so cal, I felt like the movie Somewhere In Time with Christopher Reeve/ Jane Seymour , cept MY wife is more beautiful ! we toured a few other popular hotels and I would NEVER stay at some. cant wait to come back

Room Tip: actually allllll the ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodyNews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We took advantage of the special room/dinner package for our anniversary. We have previously dined at 21 Oceanfront and it is always great. The hotel is on top of the restaurant. It is very quaint and the rooms we viewed were very nice. I recommend the rooms in the front (1-7?) with an ocean view - it is spectacular. Front desk was very helpful and nice. One issue this hotel has on occasion is noise from the street when the bars let out. Our room was great except for the kids that parked under our window at 3 AM and hung out for an hour or two. Closing the windows helped a lot but it was still annoying. All in all it was a great romantic getaway. Being right on the beach we could walk for miles in either direction. I expect the Fall/Winter is the best time because there are less people (this beach is popular in summer). Breakfast is not that great but that was not one of our criteria.

Room Tip: Chose ocean view rooms in front. 1-3 are probably best because no one can park underneath your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdgirl_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Perhaps my husband and I didn't understand the charm that others have found in this B&B. The location was great, only steps to the beach, and there are many places to eat and drink close. The front desk person was welcoming but the overall decor both in the public spaces and in the rooms are several decades past their prime. The room rate did include free parking, wi-fi and breakfast which made the victorian explosion decor more acceptable. We had drinks in the bar below the hotel and had a terrific time there...Katie the bartender was a local and provided much information about old Newport Beach and the Inn. Apparently it is "always" full and people return year after year to stay here. I will say it was a unique experience and we may bring other back just to share it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Bellagio" room....it was large and the bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
245 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range: $195 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing